Music
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online) 
- the leading online resource for music research
- scholarly encyclopedia articles covering classical, opera, jazz, popular music, etc.
- composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres
- contents:
- Grove Music Online: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, including updates
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed., Colin Larkin, ed.: popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music
- The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. rev., Michael Kennedy, ed.: 12,500 entries covering musical subjects of all kinds
- The Oxford Companion to Music, Alison Latham, ed.: a concentrated focus on the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present day
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music / Bruno Nettl, et al., eds.
- a comprehensive survey of world music organized in ten volumes by continent
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ML 100 .G16 (10 volumes)
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / Stanley Sadie, ed.
- print version in Mills Music Reference (4th floor) ML 100 .N48 (29 volumes)
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada / Helmut Kallmann, et al., eds.
- 4000 articles on all aspects of music in Canada
Harvard Dictionary of Music / Don Michael Randel, ed.
- general source for terms, definitions, instruments, periods
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ML 100 .A64
Baker's Dictionary of Music / Nicolas Slonimsky; Richard Kassel, ed.
- 1,171 pages of musical definitions and brief biographies
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ML 100 .S635
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians / Nicolas Slonimsky; Laura Kuhn, ed.
- 6 volumes of useful and reliable compact biographies of musicians of all ages and nations
- includes lists of composers' works and bibliographies
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ML 105 .B16
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World / John Shepherd, et al., eds.
- a seven volume guide to world music industries organized by continent
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ML 102 .P66 C66 (7 volumes)
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments / Stanley Sadie, ed.
- articles on Western and non-Western musical instruments, historical and modern, their makers, and performance practices
- bibliographies of additional source materials on specific instruments
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ML 102 .I5 N48
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
JSTOR
does not include the most recent 3-5 years
- full text access to scholarly articles from over 60 music journals published from the 1860s - 2000s
- under "Limit by Discipline", select "Music"
Music Index Online
1979 to current
- citations to scholarly and popular music articles, as well as numerous reviews for books and sound recordings
- 1.5 million articles from 875 international music periodicals
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature -- 1967 to current
- abstracts of scholarly articles on classical music, jazz, world music, etc.
- MILLS Music Reference (4th floor) ZML 1 .R13
RIPM -- Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
ca. 1800 - 1950
- citations and abstracts covering 120 international historic music periodicals
- includes articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more
- in addition, more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages
Canadian Music Periodical Index late 19th C. to current
- citations from over 600 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines from the late 19th century to the present
ERIC 1966 to current
- citations to 1.3 million resources in the field of education: journal articles, books, papers, reports, theses, curriculi, standards, guidelines, policy papers, etc.
- about 950 journals are actively indexed in ERIC, 90+ percent peer-reviewed
Websites
-
Classical Music Navigator: Brief information on composers, notable works, and forms and styles of music.
-
ClassicalNet: A collection of information and news: articles, CD reviews, composers and their music, the basic repertoire, recommended compositions and recordings.
-
MusicaNet Choral Music: Database of the choral music repertoire of the world. +83,000 titles of choral music in Musica International. Musica International coordinates the work of choral music federations, music libraries and choral music publishers.
Scores
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
- currently contains 13,956 scores (292,823 pages) from both in-copyright and public domain editions of music scores
- major composers, as well as many lesser known composers and works from the Renaissance to the 21st century
- content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series
Public domain:
- The Choral Public Domain Library: The primary purpose of the Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) is to create a repository of editions of music in the public domain.
- NMA - Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: A digitized facsimile edition of most of Mozart's instrumental and vocal music.
- Sheet Music and Multi-Media Resources: a collection of links to free online scores, compiled by Harvard College Library
Audio and Video
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Naxos Music Library
Note: 5 maximum concurrent users; please log out of session after use and turn off pop-up blockers)
- online collection of recorded classical, jazz and world music delivered via streaming audio
- also includes CD covers, track listings, liner notes, composer biographical information, opera synopses and libretti
- over 37,000 discs and over 540,000 tracks as of November 2009
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Note: 5 maximum concurrent users
- online collection of recorded sound, including folk, popular, classical and world music, speeches, and oral histories, delivered via streaming audio
- browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or topic, e.g. American folk traditions, blues, bluegrass and old-time country, American Indian traditions, world traditions (by continent), jazz, classical, spoken word, sound effects.

