Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Course code: SEP 6E03 | MEEI | MTEI
Course name: School of Engineering Practice, Entrepreneurial Skills & Processes | Master of Engineering Entrepreneurship and Innovation | Master of Technology Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Course date: 2014-2015

This research guide identifies secondary sources of information available via the McMaster University Library and the Internet.

Industry & Market Research Resources

  • Associations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre (current)
    Identifies Canadian trade association web sites that can contain statistics, trends, legal and regulatory information on an industry.
    Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88 2013 (previous editions in MILLS and THODE libraries)
     
  • Best Bet! Business Monitor International 
    Covers over 20 industries including autos, chemicals, commercial banking, defence & security, food & drink, freight transport, information technology, infrastructure, insurance, oil & gas, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals, telecommunications, tourism. Industry reports are available for countries worldwide.
     
  • Best Bet! Business Source Complete
    Contains Datamonitor industry profiles (overview, market value) and market research reports for countries around the world.
     
  • Canadian Business Patterns (CBP) via ODESI, 1988 to the present
    Provides counts of business establishments in Canada by geography (country, province, census division, census metropolitan area) by industry (e.g., NAICS 2 to 6 digits) and by employment size ranges. Company names are not included.
    Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor) and INNIS Library (years 1997 to 2011 only)[Click on Start>Programs>Canadian Business Patterns]
     
  • CANSIM via Statistics Canada
    Contains extensive socio-economic data for Canada and the provinces. Search or browse for data tables.
     
  • Conference Board of Canada e-Library
    Contains several current Canadian industry reports. Industries covered include: retail trade, paper products, auto parts, IT & communications, wood products, tourism, and food. Search by keywords or Browse by Topic > Industry Sector Economics.
     
  • CorporateInformation
    Provides information on 30 industries and 60 countries. Get a list of companies covered in a particular industry and a list of relevant links and a brief synopsis of the industry.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Global Industries
    Profiles over 100 business sectors of global significance. Entries typically include sections on organization and structure, background and development, current conditions, research and technology, industry leaders and further reading. Organized alphabetically by industry (NAICS code).
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2324.E53 2007
     
  • Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Once connected to GVRL, click on Business in the left navigation menu > select Encyclopedia of Products & Industries > search for keyword(s) or browse the Table of Contents OR eBook Index to find an industry profile)
    Contains information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product - the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Covers manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, appliances, home furnishing and sporting goods. U.S. emphasis.
     
  • Best Bet! Factiva
    Select the Companies/Markets tab and then the Industry link to view a list of snapshots for over 60 industries such as biotechnology, building construction, environment/waste management, health care, pharmaceuticals, semiconductors, telecommunications, and more. Click on an industry name to find targeted news, reports, charts, analysis and financial data.
     
  • Best Bet! IBISWorld
    Contains over 1000 U.S., 150 Canadian and 100 global industry reports, many at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level. 
     
  • Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios , 2004 to current
    Provides a set of business ratios, measured as relationships between companies' balance sheet and income statement categories, across industries by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code. Canadian content.
     
  • Market Share Reporter
    A compilation of global market share data from periodical literature, competitive analysis and market research. Search by products and services; by company; by brands, by U.S. SIC and more.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 5410.M35 2014 & 2015 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks (previously titled World Market Share Reporter INNIS Bookstacks HD 2757.15 .W67 1997 to 2002)).
     
  • Marketing Charts
    Contains statistics, charts and articles on the top players within a specific category such as automotive, retail, entertainment, advertising and more.
     
  • Marketing Facts: Statistics and Trends for Marketing in Canada2011 & 2013 editions (Canadian Marketing Association)
    Contains statistics and benchmarks relevant to marketing in Canada. Topics covered include marketing media, industries, sought after market segments, consumer attitudes, and social media. Information is compiled from over 35 sources.
    Previous edition located in INNIS Reference HF 5415.C2M36 2008
     
  • Best Bet! MarketResearch.com Academic
    Contains hundreds of detailed market research reports. U.S. focus.
     
  • Mergent Industry Reports via Factiva
    Includes North American industry reports which cover the U.S. and Canadian markets separately. The reports typically include a description of the current market environment, an industry profile, an analytical look at market trends, key points and references. To find Canadian reports, search and select Mergent Industry Reports from the Source menu. In the search box, type in the keyword(s) of your industry along with "north america" and click Search. Click here for an image of this search. Browse the results for reports with North America in the title. Canadian content should be included in the body of the report.
     
  • Best Bet! Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world. Try performing a keyword search for your country, industry or topic.
     
  • ProQuest Entrepreneurship
    Citations, abstracts and some full-text are provided for over 630 publications (scholarly and practical) related to entrepreneurship.

Company Resources

  • Business Source Complete
    Contains international company profiles, some with a SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) analysis.
     
  • Canadian Business Database (current year only)
    An online directory listing over 1.5 million Canadian businesses (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including SIC or NAICS code), location, employee size and sales ranges. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 3 people at one time can use this database. If you are unable to access the database, please try again later
     
  • Canadian Business Patterns (CBP) via ODESI, 1988 to current
    Provides counts of businesses in Canada by geography (country, province, census division, census metropolitan area) by industry (e.g., NAICS 2 to 6 digits) and by employment size ranges. NOTE: Company names are not included.
    Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor) and INNIS Library (years 1997 to 2011 only)[Click on Start>Programs>Canadian Business Patterns]
     
  • Company Annual Reports
    The sources included on this guide identify key sites for locating the annual reports of publicly traded companies worldwide.

  • EuroPages: The European B2B Search Engine
    A multilingual business directory containing 2.3 million companies from 35 countries in Europe & links to international yellow pages. Search by product or service, by company name, or by activity or sector.

  • Best Bet! Factiva
    Select the Companies/Markets tab, then the Company link. Search by a company name, ticker and more. Company snapshots include share price information, peer comparisons, financials, key executives, and current news headlines.

  • Best Bet!Hoovers
    Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company factsheet, overview, history, people, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, competitors and financials. 

  • International Directory of Company Histories 99 vols
    Traces the historical development of over 4,500 of the largest and most influential public, private and non-profit companies around the world. Each volume has cumulative indexes: by company name (alphabetical), by industry, and by geography (country of company headquarters).
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2721.I57

  • Best Bet! LexisNexis Academic
    Search for worldwide company information. Select Search by Subject or Topic (on the main page) > go to the Companies menu > select Dossier (Company, Executive, & Industry) and/or Company Profiles from the list.

  • Best Bet! Mergent Online
    Contains company and financial data for publicly traded companies around the world. Search by company name, ticker or American SIC or NAICS.

  • Moody's/Mergent's International Manual, 1981-2008 [microfiche]
    Financial and business information on 11,000 corporations, sovereigns and institutions in 117 countries.
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2755.5 .M6 [microfiche](grey filing cabinets)
     
  • ThomasNet (aka Thomas Register)
    One of the most comprehensive directories for locating suppliers and products manufactured in North America. Search by supplier, by product, CAD drawings, and more.
     
  • Thomson ONE
    Contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms.
     

Consumer and Demographic Resources

  • American Time Use: Who Spends How Long At What, 2nd ed.
    Location of Print: MILLS Bookstacks HD 69 .T54A46 2010 & 2007

  • Best customers : demographics of consumer demand, 2012
    Identifies who the best customers are for selected products and services. U.S. focus. 
    Location of Print: INNIS Reference HC 79 .C6R87 2010 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)

  • Canadian Social Trends (Statistics Canada)
    Publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians. It contains the latest figures for major social indicators. Look for articles by year or by subject.
    Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS11-C008 (1986 to current)

  • CANSIM via Statistics Canada
    Contains extensive socio-economic data for Canada and the provinces. Search or browse for data tables.

  • Best Bet! Consumer Lifestyles via Passport GMID
    Once connected, click on Countries & Consumers (across top of screen)>choose Consumer Trends and Lifestyles from the menu>select a country from the Consumer Lifestyles drop-down menu. Profiles include analysis of household profiles, income, education, eating and drinking habits, shopping habits, leisure and tourism.

  • Census 2011 (Statistics Canada) - includes:
    • Population and Dwelling Counts
    • Age and Sex
    • Families, Households and Marital Status
    • Structural Type of Dwelling and Collectives
    • Language
    • Census Profiles (retrieves the above variables by place name, postal code, or geographic code). NOTE: Also check the National Household Survey (NHS) data for a more comprehensive view of a given geographical area. NHS includes data on immigration & ethnocultural diversity; aboriginal peoples; education & labour; mobility & migration; language of work; income & housing.
  • Canadian Census Profiles 2011 by FSA (Forward Sortation Area) (Statistics Canada)
    Retrieve latest census data by FSA (forward sortation area) - the first three characters of a postal code. Select a relevant link on the page > View latest issue > Select postal code and data variable from drop-down menus displayed

  • FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
    Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
    Location: INNIS Reference HC 111.S96 2012 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks) NOTE: Publication ceased.

  • Trend Briefings (trendwatching.com), 2002 to current
    Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.
  • World dataBank (World Bank)
    The World Development Indicators database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Search by country, series/topic and year.


    Last Reviewed: October 24, 2014