Mathematics and Statistics
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics / editors in chief, Peter Armitage, Theodore Colton
HEALTH Reference WA 13 .E55 2005
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics / edited by Michiel Hazewinkel
"...precise source of reference to mathematical definitions, concepts, explanations, surveys, examples, terminology and methods...", published by Springer Verlag, but freely available.
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics : an Updated and Annotated Translation of
the Soviet "Mathematical Encyclopaedia"
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 5.M3713 1988
Encyclopedia of Optimization / editors, C.A. Floudas and P.M. Pardalos
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 402.5 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 276.14 .E5 2006
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics / by the Mathematical Society of Japan ; edited by Nihon Sūgakkai, Iyanaga, Shōkichi, Kawada, Yukiyosi; translation reviewed by Kenneth O. May. 1977
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 5.N513
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
THODE Reference (lower level) Q 121 .M3 2002
On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
This site is maintained by Neil J. A. Sloane, AT &T, and contains over 150,000 sequences (as of Nov. 2008). "The entry for each sequence gives the beginning of the sequence, its name or description, any references
or links, any formulae, cross-references to other sequences, the name of the person who submitted it, etc."
PlanetMath Encyclopedia
Articles are written by mathematicians. The encyclopedia can be browsed by MSC classification or searched.
Prentice-Hall Encyclopedia of Mathematics / by Beverly Henderson West
THODE Bookstacks QA 5 .P7 1982
Covers various aspects of mathematics; includes tables of symbols, weights and measures, logarithms and references.
PRIME (Platonic Realms Interactive Mathematics Encyclopedia)
This site is aimed at high-school and university undergraduate students.
VNR Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics / W. Gellert
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 40 .V18 1989
DICTIONARIES
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics / Christopher Clapham. 3rd ed., 2005
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics / Eric W. Weisstein.
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 5 .W45 1999
Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical Mathematics / edited by Catherine Cavagnaro and William T. Haight
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 5 .D4984 2001
Dictionary of Mathematics / E.J. Borowski and J.M. Borwein. 1989
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 5 .B67
Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics / D. W. G. Ballentyne and D. R. Lovett
THODE Reference (lower level) QD 5 .B32 1980
Dictionary of Real Numbers / Jonathan Borwein, Peter Borwein
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 47 .B625 1990
Mathematics Dictionary / James/James
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 5 .J33 1992
Math Forum Internet Mathematics Library : Dictionaries
Hosted at the Drexel University, this site includes links to mathematics dictionaries and other resources.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Mathematics
HANDBOOKS/TABLES
CRC Handbook of Tables for Order Statistics from Inverse Gaussian Distributions with Applications / N. Balakrishnan, William W.S. Chen
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 278.7 .B34 1997
CRC Hhandbook of Tables for the Use of Order Statistics in Estimation / H. Leon Harter, N. Balakrishnan THODE Reference (lower level) QA 278.7 .H36 1996
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 47.C2 2003
Digital Library of Mathematical Functions / NIST
A revision of Abramowitz's and Stegun's Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables, 5 chapters of the 38 have so far been completed: ch. 2: Asymptotic Approximations;
ch. 5: Gamma Function; ch. 9: Airy and Related Functions; ch. 27: Functions of Number Theory and ch. 34: 3j, 6j, 9j Symbols.
Handbook of Mathematics / I.N. Bronshtein
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 40 .B713 2004
Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 47 .J38 2008
Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables
Math2.org / David Manura
Contains basic mathematical tables as well as tables and formulas in algebra, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, statistics, fourier series, transform and more.
Metamath Proof Explorer Home Page
This site offers "over 8,000 completely worked out proofs in logic and
set theory, interconnected with over a million hyperlinked
cross-references."
Selected Tables in Mathematical Statistics / edited by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics; 11 vols.
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 276.25.H372
Table of Integrals, Series and Products
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 55 .G6613 2007
Wolfram Alpha: Computational Knowledge Engine
Computes a query and provides factual results (e.g., algebraic, numerical, geometrical computations) which are derived from its own collection of sources.
Books
Encyclopaedia of mathematical sciences
Thode Bookstacks (search in library catalgoue under above series title for specific call
numbers)
This ongoing series of books provides a useful introduction to the
topics covered. Books are individually classified; since 2005 available
online.
Fundamentals of mathematics / edited by H. Behnke ... [et al.] ; translated by S. H. Gould
THODE Bookstacks Call No.: QA 37.2.B413
Historical Math Monographs / Cornell University Library
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Jahrbuch Project / Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics (ERAM)
"A literature database based on 'Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der
Mathematik' (1868-1942)"
Mathematics (e-print archive), 1992-
Searchable database of pre-prints in mathematics
Project Euclid
This features publications from independent and society publishers that
can be searched or browsed. Some articles available against payment.
Referativny zhurnal. 13, Matematika, 1954-
THODE Indexes & Abstracts (2nd floor) ZQA 1.R44
Statistical theory and method abstracts - Zentralblatt
This databases, which is a subset of ZentralblattMATH, covers worldwide
literature on mathematical statistics and probabilty from 1868
Statistics (e-print archive), 2007-
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science), 1976-
Indexes journal articles in the sciences and engineering. Unique feature of this database is the citation searching capability.
TechXtra in Engineering, Mathematics, Computing
Cross searches 31 collections of articles, technical reports,
dissertations, e-prints, e-journals, news, job announcements, etc.
Biography/History
Biographisch-literarisches Handwörterbuch der exakten Naturwissenschaften / J.C. Poggendorf
THODE Reference (lower level) ZQ 141 .P742
This is publication covers biographical and literary works of
scientists; information about date of birth and place, place of work
and subject areas are included.
History of Mathematics from Antiquity to the Present : a Selective Bibliography / Joseph W. Dauben
THODE Reference (lower level) ZQA 21 .D38
Leading personalities in statistical sciences : from the 17th century to the present / Norman L. Johnson and Samuel Kotz
THODE Bookstacks QA 276.156 .L43 1997
Mathematical thought from ancient to modern times / Morris Kline
THODE Bookstacks Call No.: QA 21 .K53
Mathematicians from Antiquity to Today / J. Fang, in collaboration with U. Dudley
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 28 .F3
Mathematics Archives
Links to historical works and biographical information.
Mathematics Genealogy Project
"The intent of this project is to compile information about ALL the
mathematicians of the world." Information include the univesity,
dissertation, thesis supervisor of the mathematician.
Math Forum / Drexel University
Links to history and biographical materials.
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors : Lives and Legacies : an
Encyclopedia of People who Changed the World / edited by Doris Simonis
Websites
Electronic Library of Mathematics / European Mathematical Society; Zentralblatt Math
"The Electronic Library of Mathematics contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics. All material is in electronic form and access is
generally free, except for some periodicals with a "moving wall", i.e., a certain delay period after which resources become freely available."
Intute > Science Engineering and Technology > Mathematics
"The Intute Mathematics Gateway provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. Our target
audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education."
Mathematical Atlas : a Gateway to Mathematics
"The Mathematical Atlas is a collection of articles about aspects of mathematics at and above the university level..."
Mathematical Literature / Goettinger Digitalisierungszentrum
Mathematics on the Web / American Mathematical Society
This is a good starting point for mathematical resources (some of them require a subscription): covers mathematics bibliographical databases, journals, preprints, books, software, handbooks, dictionaries, AMS
classification, societies and many more links.
Math Forum Internet Mathematics Library / Drexel University
Covers mathematics topics (algebra, calculus, geometry, etc.) and mathematical education resources.
MathGuide / State and University Library Goettingen, Germany
"The MathGuide is an Internet-based subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in mathematics"
Math-Net Links to the Mathematical World
"This is a collection of mathematical resources and related links into the Internet subdivided in the following sections": general mathematical resources, mathematical publications, software, museum, electronic publishing and more.
Resources in Mathematics / Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Division of the Special Library Association
This is a portal to directories, biographies, reference resources, preprints, professional associations and institutions, and mathematical resources.
Wolfram's MathWorld
Gateway to an extensive collection of internet resources.
Citation and Style Guides
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Chicago Manual of Style Online / University of Chicago Press
A standard reference work for writing and citing correctly.
Council of Biology Editors (CBE) Style of Documentation in Science and Mathematics
Provides good examples of citing articles, books, websites and other
types of resources. Note: Mathematics journals can also be used for
finding citation styles.
Elements of Style / William Strunk, Jr.
This is a guide on writing well and using correct grammar.
Handbook of Writing for the Mathematical Sciences / Nicholas J. Higham
THODE Bookstacks Call No.: QA 42 .H54 1993
Mathematical Publishing : a Guidebook / Steven G. Krantz
THODE Reference (lower level) QA 42 .K727 2005
Abbreviations of Names of Serials
This list of journal abbreviations and full-titles is used in the MathSciNet database, published by the American Mathematical Society

