Hours of Service/Location | Telephone | Types of Information
The Collection | Reference

bullet Lloyd Reeds Map Collection is the map and geographic information centre for the University, with over 130,000 paper sheet maps, 10,000 maps in other formats, 17,000 air photos and 3,000 atlases.
bullet Members of the Hamilton community and visitors welcome
bullet Requests for loans should be made at least 24 hours in advance, to allow time for laminating to protect the maps.
bullet Interlibrary loan of maps can be arranged directly through the Curator.
bullet Interlibrary loan of atlases can be arranged through the Library's Interlending and Document Supply section.

Gold Bar
Hours of Service/
Location

 

 

 



Monday-Thursday:
Friday:
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Summer hours:
Monday-Friday

9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Mills Memorial Library, First Floor, South Side (Room 110)

 

Gold Bar
Telephone

 


(905) 525-9140 Ext. 24745

Gold Bar
Types of Information
Topographic Maps
General Maps
Atlases
Geology and Soils
Environmental Studies
Historic Maps
Recreation
Genealogical Research
Air Photos
Census
City Street Maps
Base Maps
Geographic Information
Digital Information
Internet Access

TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS

bullet Detailed topographic cover of Ontario, Canada, Britain and some U.S. states
bullet Cover of Europe and the rest of the world at various scales

GENERAL MAPS

bullet Geographical and political maps of all countries
bullet Campus maps for Canadian universities, as well as paper maps of many campuses

 

 

ATLASES

bullet World, national, provincial and thematic atlases, historic and modern
bullet Atlases and books in the Map Collection are listed in MORRIS, McMaster University Library's online catalogue

GEOLOGY AND SOILS

bullet Extensive cover of Ontario and Canada, and many other parts of the world

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

bullet Maps and reports useful for environmental studies of the Hamilton-Wentworth area

HISTORIC MAPS

bullet

Both originals and reproductions of maps of Wentworth County historical interest

bullet Town plans of Canada, U.S. and Europe
bullet Fire insurance plans of Hamilton and other cities
bullet Reproductions of many early maps of Canada and North America
bullet Index to McMaster's rare map collection - Just a beginning, but eventually we will include all of the rare maps in our collection. Includes indexes by date, cartographer, title and geographic area, and also images of some of the maps.
bullet World War I Mililtary Map Collection - A finding aid to our collection of military and trench maps, held in the Lloyd Reeds Map Collection and Research Collections

RECREATION

bullet Maps for travel, fishing, orienteering, canoeing and other recreational activities
bullet Hydrographic charts of Canadian waters

GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH

bullet Gazetteers of many countries, place name and city directories, and historical atlases of Ontario counties

 

AIR PHOTOS

bullet Detailed aerial photography of Wentworth County, including some stereoscopic coverage
bullet Limited coverage of Northern Ontario
bullet Indexed collection of satellite image photos of places and physical features worldwide

CENSUS

bullet Selected Canadian census maps and documents

CITY STREET MAPS

bullet Road maps and city street maps for urban areas worldwide

BASE MAPS

bullet Small outline maps for inclusion in essays

GEOGRAPHIC INFORMATION

bullet Bibliographies, indexes, catalogues of other map collections
bullet Books on map interpretation and cartographic conventions
bullet Gazetteers and place name guides
bullet City directories for Hamilton (1853-) and Toronto (selected years)
bullet Assessment rolls for the City of Toronto
bullet Notebooks, diaries and correspondence of early Land Surveyors in Upper Canada

DIGITAL INFORMATION

bullet Digital geospatial data for use in GIS software is available from the Map Collection.
bullet Guide to Available Digital Geospatial Data lists many of the data sets available to McMaster researchers.

INTERNET ACCESS

bullet Access to selected geographic and cartographic information tools and sources is available through the E-Resources database.

 

Gold Bar
The Collection


Lloyd Reeds Map Collection is primarily a reference, rather than a lending, collection. Maps may be borrowed for short periods, for teaching and classroom presentations, with the permission of the Curator.

Atlases and reference materials do not circulate, and should be used in the Map Collection area.

Maps and atlases are fragile. Users are asked to handle materials in this collection with care. Maps should not be folded or creased, and special care must be taken in photocopying.

Drinks are not allowed in the Map Collection.

 

Gold Bar
Reference


Atlases and books in the Map Collection are listed in MORRIS. Library staff will provide assistance in locating maps, and in using materials and equipment.

A photo-copier, light tables, drafting tables, microform-reading equipment, planimeters, stereoscopes and opisometers are available for use in this area.

ArcView workstations are available to view digital geospatial datasets.

 


 

Contact: mapref@mcmaster.ca
Last Reviewed: July 27, 2004
URL: