Linguistics
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
EncyclopediasInternational Encyclopedia of Linguistics (online) Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics (online) Contains over 3,150 brief entries for linguistics terms. Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Sciences of Language A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics The American Heritage Dictionary of Indo-European Roots 2nd ed.
Language Dictionaries
|
Books
|
Some basic subject headings for Linguistics include: |
|
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
|
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts MLA International Bibliography PsycINFO The Web of Science consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination. Information from these indexes can be retrieved by author, subject term, journal title, address, and cited reference (or bibliography). JSTOR
|
Websites
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
http://www.ethnologue.com/
Glossary of Linguistic Terms
http://www.sil.org/linguistics/glossaryoflinguisticterms/index.htm
Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-Index
http://nlp.stanford.edu/links/linguistics.html
Omniglot: Writing Systems & Languages of the World
http://www.omniglot.com/writing/
New: December 2009
Language Portal of Canada
Includes the Termium Plus English/French translation corpus
Associations & Organizations
ACL/CLA – Canadian Linguistic Association
http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/~cla-acl/
ILA - International Linguistic Association
http://www.ilaword.org/
International Phonetic Association
http://www.arts.gla.ac.uk/IPA/ipa.html
Linguistic Society of America
http://www.lsadc.org/
Citation and Style Guides
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Reworks
RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool that allows you to:
- create your own personal database of references imported from text files or online databases
- quickly create footnotes, in-text references and bibliographies in the style you choose
- access your references online
Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue
A comprehensive guide to writing, formatting and citing sources in APA, MLA, Chicago and other styles.
APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper (from Duke University)
Provides side-by-side examples of references in APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian style.


