Labour Studies
- Reference
- Books
- Think Tanks
- Data and Statistics
- Case Law
- Articles/Databases
- Geographic Info Systems
- Associations & Organizations
- Government Sources
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Biographical Dictionary of American Labor. 2nd ed.
Contains over 700 biographical entries on men and women closely associated with the labour movement in the United States. Entries include significant details of the person's life including relevant family information, trade union affiliation and public and private offices held. Entries include bibliographical references.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HD 8073 .A1B56 1984
Dictionary of Labour Biography, v.1(1790)- present
Includes brief biographical entires on deceased individuals who were involved in the labour movement in Britain. Entries include bibliographical references. Includes an index.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HD 8393 .A1B43
Dictionary of Marxist Thought. 2nd.ed.
Defines and describes the basic concepts of Marxism. Entries include references for additional reading. A bibliography and index are included.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HX 17 .D5 1991
Employment Relations Abstracts / Work Related Abstracts, 1967-1996 (ceased)
Extracts significant and informative material from over 250 management, labour, government, professional, and academic periodicals. Abstracts are divided into 20 broad subject areas with a detailed index to specific subjects, organizations, and individuals in the back of each volume.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZHF 5549 .A2E4 (1967-1996)
Encyclopedia of the American Left
A thorough, comprehensive work on the history of the American Left, "that segment of society which has sought fundamental changes in the economic, political and cultural systems". There is strong emphasis upon radicals, socialists, and communists. Index included.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HX 86 .E58 1990
Hamilton Working Class 1820-1977: A Bibliography
Includes: The Workingmen In a Frontier Town: Hamilton, 1820-1850; The Railway City, 1850-1870; Researching the Hamilton Working Class, 1870-1900; The Working Class of Hamilton, 1900-1930; The Labour Movement of Hamilton, 1930-1956; and a Selected Bibliography of Hamilton Labour, 1956-1977.
Location: MILLS Bookstacks HD 8106 .R63
-
Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor. 2nd ed.
Contains 277 entries on individual countries, international labour organizations, major labour unions, leaders, ideas, political parties and other aspects related to the history of organized labour. Appendices include a glossary of terms, chronology, union membership statistics, and a bibliography.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HD 4839 .D58 2004
-
Primary Sources in Canadian Working Class History, 1860-1930.
Contains over 3000 items related to working class history in "English Canada". Items have been organized under four broad categories: manuscripts, newspapers, pamphlets and government documents. Includes an index.
Location: MILLS Research Collections Reference (lower level) ZHD 8106 .P7
-
St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide : Major Events in Labor History and Their Impact. 2004. 2 v.
In-depth analysis of more than 300 key events in labour history over the last 200 years, focussing on the relevance of these events to both the labour movement as a whole and to societal changes around the world.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HD 4839 .S74 2004
-
Trade Unions of the World. 1989/90.
Provides descriptions of trade union organizations from around the world. Includes an index.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HD 6483 .T675 1989/90
Also available at: INNIS Reference HD 6483.T675
Books
|
Some basic subject headings for labour studies include: |
|
Think Tanks
Note: A think tank is an organization that conducts research pertaining to issues such as social policy, science and technology, and business policy. Think tanks often engage in advocacy. As a result, the findings produced by think tanks may reflect particular political viewpoints. Researchers should be aware of such biases when using these sources.
Websites
Hillwatch.com: Think Tanks
This site produced by Hillwatch, a government relations firm, provides a thorough listing of national and international think tanks. This web page is a good starting point for research involving think tanks
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
An institute concerned with issues pertaining to social, economic, and environmental policy.
Canadian Economics Association
An organization consisting of "Academic Economists." The association is responsible for the publication of The Canadian Journal of Economics.
The C.D. Howe Institute
A non-profit organization interested in the Canadian standard of living. The institute is concerned with social and economic policy.
Centre for the Study of Living Standards
This non profit organization is primarily interested in trends relating to economic and social well being.
Conference Board of Canada
Specializes in economic trends, organizational performance, and public policy.
The Fraser Institute
Studies a broad range of topics including taxes, immigration, health care, and education.
Data and Statistics
Databases
BestCase
McMaster Users Only
Contains law reports including Labour Arbitration Cases, British Columbia Labour Arbitration Decisions, British Columbia Labour Relations Board Decisions, and Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries.
BusinessWorks
McMaster Users Only
Includes Canadian Labour Law Cases.
LexisNexis
McMaster Users Only
Features Canadian statutes, regulations, and cases in addition to U.S. federal and state legal materials.
Reference Materials and Periodicals
Brown and Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration
Innis Reference KE 3206. B7
Includes materials relating to collective labour agreements, and grievance arbitration in Canada.
The Canadian Abridgment
Mills Periodicals (3rd Floor) KE 173. C35
A multi-volume research tool that provides digests of cases, citations, and legal commentary.
The Canadian Charter of Rights: Annotated
Mills Reference (2nd Floor) KE 4381. A29C36
Annotated version of the charter in six volumes.
Canadian Labour Relations Board Reports
Mills Periodicals (3rd Floor) KE. C4
Includes labour notes.
Websites
Judgments of the Supreme Court of Canada
Contains oral and written judgments along with a summary of their reasons. Coverage dates back to 1876.
Ontario Labour Relations Board
Includes decisions by the Ontario Labour Relations Board. Continuous coverage since 2000 with some partial coverage prior to 2000.
Pay Equity Hearings Tribunal
Contains decisions relating to pay equity disputes.
Public Service Labour Relations Board
Full text decisions of the Public Service Labour Relations Board and the Public Service Staff Relations Board.
Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal
Includes decisions and their reasons.
Case Law
Databases
BestCase
McMaster Users Only
Contains law reports including Labour Arbitration Cases, British Columbia Labour Arbitration Decisions, British Columbia Labour Relations Board Decisions, and Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries.
BusinessWorks
McMaster Users Only
Includes Canadian Labour Law Cases.
LexisNexis
McMaster Users Only
Features Canadian statutes, regulations, and cases in addition to U.S. federal and state legal materials.
Reference Materials and Periodicals
Brown and Beatty's Canadian Labour Arbitration
Innis Reference KE 3206. B7
Includes materials relating to collective labour agreements, and grievance arbitration in Canada.
The Canadian Abridgment
Mills Periodicals (3rd Floor) KE 173. C35
A multi-volume research tool that provides digests of cases, citations, and legal commentary.
The Canadian Charter of Rights: Annotated
Mills Reference (2nd Floor) KE 4381. A29C36
Annotated version of the charter in six volumes.
Canadian Labour Relations Board Reports
Mills Periodicals (3rd Floor) KE. C4
Includes labour notes.
Websites
Judgments of the Supreme Court of Canada
Contains oral and written judgments along with a summary of their reasons. Coverage dates back to 1876.
Ontario Labour Relations Board
Includes decisions by the Ontario Labour Relations Board. Continuous coverage since 2000 with some partial coverage prior to 2000.
Pay Equity Hearings Tribunal
Contains decisions relating to pay equity disputes.
Public Service Labour Relations Board
Full text decisions of the Public Service Labour Relations Board and the Public Service Staff Relations Board.
Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal
Includes decisions and their reasons.
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
|
Article Databases / Indexes
|
|
Geographic Info Systems
Data and Statistical resources are available from various sources such as Statistics Canada, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), SourceOECD, IMF etc. The links below will help you to identify data and statistical resources available for your research.
|
Statistics
|
Data
|
|
...facts or figures
|
...raw material used to calculate statistics
|
|
...proves a point using totals, sums or averages
|
...used with software like SAS or SPSS
|
|
- Canadian
|
- Canadian
|
Statistics:
Data:
More Data and Statistics Resources:
Please visit “Odesi”, which houses Statistics Canada datasets, data files from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).
The files can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be currently registered student, staff and faculty at McMaster University.
Associations & Organizations
-
AMAPEO--Association of Management, Administrative, and Professional Crown Employees of Canada
A bargaining agent representing professional and supervisory public servants, including those who work for the Ontario Public Service (OPS). -
Canadian Association of Labour Media
Includes editors and producers of labour-centric stories and graphics for distribution by labour communicators. -
CAW--Canadian Auto Workers
This website features information regarding the largest private sector union in Canada. -
Canadian Committee on Labour History
The website includes information about the committee and its publication, Labour/Le Travail, and the Working Histories labour and working-class history portal. -
CLC--Canadian Labour Congress
An umbrella association for many Canadian and international unions. -
Canadian Office and Professional Employees Union
A national labour union organization consisting of office employees, technical and professional employees, and sales representatives. -
CUPE--Canadian Union of Public Employees
Canada's largest union. Includes 600 000 members and represents workers in health care, education, municipalities, libraries, and social services. -
International Association of Labour History Institutions
Includes libraries, archives, and research centres that specialize in international labour history. -
International Labour Organization
A United Nations agency that promotes decent working conditions around the world. -
Public Service Alliance of Canada
One of Canada's largest unions; members are largely employed by the federal government. -
Society for the Study of Labour History
Based out of the United Kingdom, the society is focused upon the study of labour history and produces the journal Labour History Review. -
USW--United Steelworkers of Canada
Members work in various areas including mines, manufacturing plants, offices, restaurants, social agencies, and forestry.
Government Sources
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.
-
Canada Industrial Relations Board (Canada)
Contains reports, decisions, forms, speeches, and information circulars. -
Canada Labour Code (Canada)
This Act was developed by parliament in order to consolidate various statutes regarding labour. -
Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (Canada)
Includes reports, research skills, social policy, and labour policy produced by the department. -
Ministry of Labour (Ontario)
Resources provided by the Ontario Ministry of Labour include publications, plans, and reports. The website also includes legislation and information about employment benefits. -
Monthly Labor Review (United States)
Contains research produced by the Bureau of Labour Statistics, an agency of the U.S. Department of Labour. -
U.S Federal Labour Relations Authority (United States)
The website for this federal agency provides access to the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Statute, which allows some non-postal federal employees to organize, bargain, and participate in labour organizations of their choosing. -
U.S. Department of Labour (United States)
Includes a number of resources notably information regarding state labour laws, wages by area and occupation, consumer price index, and current employment statistics. -
U.S. National Labour Relations Board (United States)
Contains manuals, guides, and reports pertaining to the National Labour Relations Board, an agency responsible for the administration of the National Labor Relations Act. -
Women's Bureau (United States)
Formed as part of the United States Department of Labor. The site includes statistics and data, speeches, and reports. -
Yearbook of Labour Statistics, 1943-
International source of labour force data for over 190 countries, areas or territories. Includes statistics on labour disputes, hours worked, unemployment, occupational health and safety, consumer prices, household income and expenditure surveys.
Location: MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) UN9L3-Y21

