Kinesiology

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise Sciences. 1991. Mark H. Anshel.
MILLS Reference GV 558 .D53 1991

Encyclopedia of Sports Science. 2 v. 1997. John Zummerchik, ed.
MILLS Reference GV 558 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present. 3 v. 1996. David Levenson, Karen Christenson, eds.
MILLS Reference GV 567 .E56 1996

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology. 1996. Alan Barnard, Jonathan Spencer, eds.
MILLS Reference GN 307 .E527 1996

International Encyclopedia of Dance. 6 v. 1998. Selma Jean Cohen, founding ed.
MILLS Reference GV 1585 .I586 1998

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. 3 v. 2001. Karen Christenson et al., eds.
MILLS Reference GV 709 .I58 2001

Social Issues in Contemporary Sport: A Resource Guide. 1994. Suzanne Wise.
MILLS Reference ZGV 706.5 .W57 1994

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Kinesiology include:

 
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Your Topic

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)

Physical Education Index

PubMed

Social Sciences Abstracts

SPORT Discus

The Cochrane Library

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.