Human Resources & Labour Relations

Your Subject Librarian

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Blackwell encyclopedia of management
Location: INNIS Reference HD 30.15 .B53 1997 vols.1-12

Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of organizational behavior
Location: INNIS Reference HD 58.7 .B57 1995

Canada's top 100 employers (current year online)
Location of Print: INNIS Reference & Bookstacks HD 2809 .C35 (2001 to 2006)

Canadian human resource management: a strategic approach, 8th ed.
Location: INNIS Reserve HF 5549 .C26 2007

Dictionary of human resource management McMaster Use Only
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5549 .A23D53 2001

Best Bet! Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5548.8 .E498 2007 vols. 1-2

Handbook of industrial, work and organizational psychology
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5548.8 .H36 2001 vols. 1-2

Best Bet! Handbook of psychology: industrial and organizational psychology
Location: INNIS Reference BF 121.H1955 2003 vol.12

Best Bet! Human resources management in Canada
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5549.2 .C3H85 (current) vols.1-3

The human resources glossary: the complete desk reference for HR executives, managers and practitioners, 3rd edition
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5549 .A23 T73 2004

International encyclopedia of business and management
Location: INNIS Reference HF 1001 .I53 2002 vols.1-8

Key concepts in human resource management
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5549 .A23S87 2004

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

Best Bet! Business Source Complete

Best Bet! Conference Board of Canada e-Library

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)

Human Resources Abstracts
Location of Print: MILLS Reference (2nd floor)
ZH 1 .H85, 1976-2002.

LexisNexis

Best Bet! Factiva

PsycINFO

ISI Web of Knowledge

World Related Abstracts / Employment Relations Abstracts, 1967-1996.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZHF 5549 .A2 E4

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Free Management Library - List of Topics
http://www.managementhelp.org/topics.htm

Human Resources Internet Guide
http://www.hr-guide.com/

HRM Guide: International Human Resources
http://www.hrmguide.net/

Workindex HR Directory
http://www.hreonline.com/HRE/workindex.jsp

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Human Resources Professionals of Ontario (HRPAO)
http://www.hrpa.ca/hrpa

Canadian Council of Human Resources Associations (CCHRA)
http://cchra-ccarh.ca/en3/

Canadian Society for Training and Development (CSTD)
http://www.ostd.ca/

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
http://www.shrm.org/

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Canadian Research Index (Microlog)

HR for Employers (Government of Canada
http://hrmanagement.gc.ca/

Human Resources (Industry Canada)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/epic/site/mfbs-gprea.nsf/en/lu00014e.html

Human Resources and Social Development Canada (Government of Canada)
http://www.hrsdc.gc.ca/en/home.shtml

International Labour Organization (ILO)
http://www.ilo.org/global/lang--en/index.htm