History - Canadian

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Atlases & Maps

Mills Maps (1st floor) G 1116 .S1C66 1988
 
Historial atlas of Canada
Mills Library (multiple locations) G1116 .S1 H58
 
Mills Maps (1st floor) ZG 3400 .M45 1998 or Online
 

Bibliographies

Bibliographia Canadiana
Mills Bookstacks  ZFC 51 .T57
 
Mills Reference (2nd floor) ZFC 164 .A82
 
Canadian history: A reader's guide
Mills Reference (2nd floor) ZFC 164 .C36
 
Mills Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA1.. ND.112- 97M02
 
Mills Bookstacks HQ 1453 .P43 1996
 
Mills Reference (2nd floor) ZD 1 .C18
 
Mills Bookstacks FC 164 .G63 1998
 
Mills Bookstacks FC 164 .H57

Biographies

Mills (multiple locations) JL 71 .C21 or Online
 
Mills Reference Microfiche (2nd floor) CT 283 .C21 or Online
 
Mills Library (multiple locations) FC 23 .O94 2004 or Online

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Canadian biography
Mills (multiple locations) CT 283 .D55 or Online
 
Mills Bookstacks FC 23 .G68 1999
 

Encyclopedias

 
Mills Reference (2nd floor) FC 24 .C44
 
Encyclopedia of Canada’s peoples
Mills Reference (2nd floor) FC 104 .E63 1999 or Online
 
Mills & Thode (multiple locations) FC 23 .C36 1988 or Online
 
The Canadian encyclopedia: Year 2000 edition
Mills Reference (2nd floor) FC 23 .C36 1999
 
The Fitzhenry & Whiteside book of Canadian facts and dates
Mills Reference (2nd floor) FC 24 .F58 2005
 

Writing Guides

Mills Bookstacks D 16 .B893 2008
 
Mills (multiple locations) D 16 .W62 2003
 
Mills Bookstacks D 16 .S864 2004

Primary Texts

Primary texts may be the literary works themselves (manuscripts, novels, poems, short stories, diaries, etc.) or first-hand accounts of an event or a person's life or work. These include letters, autobiographies, posters, diaries, archival materials, and photographs. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Use McMaster's library catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies. You can search by title, journal title, author, subject, call number or anywhere

To search the catalogue for a specific title, enter the title into the search box and select in Title from the drop down menu. 

Engaging diversity

 
To find books by a particular author/person, search by in Author

Morton Desmond OR Desmond Morton

To find books about a particular person/author or topic, search by in Subject 

Labor movement Canada

Innis Harold OR Harold Innis

Some basic subject headings for Canadian History include:
To find further subject headings select the title of a relevant source to link to the full record and look at the headings listed under Subjects.
 
If you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic:
  • Enter in the word(s) that describe the topic
  • Select Anywhere from the drop down menu beside the search box
  • This will allow the catalogue to search for the word(s) anywhere in the books' records.
 
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Your Topic

 

Newspapers

McMaster owns newspapers from around the world, both in print and online. Search the library calatogue for the name of the newspaper to see our holdings and for more information on how to find newspapers, see "How to Find" on the library main page, then click "Newspapers".

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Canada e-book (Based on the 2001 Canada Year Book)
Online

Canada year book
Mills Gov Pubs CA1 BS 11 - C202/C402

Census of Canada
Mills Gov Pubs - mfilm (2nd floor) CA1 AK - C21 or Online

Historical statistics of Canada
Mills Gov Pubs CA1 BS 11- C516 or Online

History of federal ridings since 1867
Online

House of Commons Debates (1867-)
Mills Gov Pubs CA1 X1 - D23 or Online

Labour Gazette
Mills Gov Pubs CA1 L- L13

Publications of the government of Ontario
Mills Gov Pubs Periodical CA2 ON GS - G55

Sessional papers of the Dominion of Canada
Mills Gov Pubs CA1 YS - S26 or Online