Globalization

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Amnesty International - Section A: Country Dossiers
MILLS Reference - microfiche (2nd floor)

Dictionary of Third World Terms
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) D 883 .H33 1993

Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) Q 124.8 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of the Third World
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HC 59.7 .K87 1992

Human Rights Encyclopedia
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JC 571 .L523 2001

International Development Dictionary
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HF 1359 .F79 1991

International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: freedoms, abuses, and remedies
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JC 571 .M3243 2000

World Human Rights Guide
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JC 571 .H788 1992

World Resources
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HC 10 .W827 2005

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

 

 

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Globalization and Autonomy
http://www.globalautonomy.ca/global1/

Global Voices Online
http://globalvoicesonline.org/

IDRC Digital Library
http://archive.idrc.ca/library/

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/en/

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Effects of Financial Globalization on Developing Countries: some emperical evidence
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) UN9 MF 30 -2003P20

The DAC Guidelines: strengthening trade capacity for development
MILLS Gov PubsZZ EC 63 -2001S77

Transdex
MILLS Gov PubsUS1 DE180 -B34

World Development Report

UN9 MG -W52