Geology

Geology is "The study of the planet Earth, the materials of which it is made, the processes that act on these materials, the products formed, and the history of the planet and its life forms since its origin." (American Geological Institute, Glossary of Geology)

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.
Thode Reference (lower level) QE 5 .E516 2005
 
Thode Reference (lower level) QE 5 .E515 1988
 
Thode Reference (lower level) QE 5 .E5 1984
 
Thode Reference (lower level) QE 696 .E52 2007
 
Online resource
 
Thode Reference (lower level) QE 5 .K42 2001
 
Online resource
 
Online resource
 
Thode Bookstacks QE 45 . F527 2004

 

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Geology include:

Search also for the names of specific resources or minerals followed by the word “Geology”, e.g. Petroleum Geology, Gold ores Geology, Coal Geology

 Search also for "Geology" followed by the names of countries or provinces e.g. Geology Canada, Geology Ontario
 
Click here to browse books about Geology in the McMaster Library Catalogue.
 
Click here to view recently received titles related to Geology.

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Some useful Article Databases and Indexes:

 
 
 
 
 

 

Geographic Info Systems

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are computer systems of software and hardware that allow the storage, manipulation, analysis and display of geographic information.

GIS data and services are provided by the GIS Librarian (Mills Library Room 108). To make an appointment, please call (905) 525-9140 ext. 21392 or email libgis @ mcmaster.ca

Available GIS data files are described at http://library.mcmaster.ca/maps/geospatial. Many other datasets are available. Contact the GIS Librarian for more information.

GIS software is available on computers in the Gateway Data/GIS Lab (Mills Library Room 111) and in the Map Collection (Mills Library Room 110). Researchers using numeric data or GIS software have priority for use of computers in these locations. Click here for a list of available software.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) - part of Earth Sciences Sector, Natural Resources Canada. Responsible for performing geologic surveys of the country, GSC was founded in 1842 and is Canada's oldest scienfitic agency.

U.S. Geologic Survey (USGS)  - Federal agency responsible for research in geologic processes and understanding their interaction with humans and environment.

Geologic Guidebooks of North America database - American Geological Institute. Guides to geologic field trips 1940 to date.

Volcanoes of the World - Global Volcanism Program, Smithsonian Institution

QUAKELINE Database - MCEER (Multidisciplinary for Earthquake Engineering Research). Bibliographic database about earthquakes and natural hazards.

Tour of Geologic Time - Univesity of California Museum of Paleontology. Interactive time scale.

Physical Geology Animations - Houghton Mifflin Co. Animations for rock cycle, minerals, igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic rocks, faults and folds, earth structure, plate tectonics, groundwater, river floods, mass movement, glaciers, shores.

 

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) - part of Earth Sciences Sector, Natural Resources Canada. Responsible for performing geologic surveys of the country, GSC was founded in 1842 and is Canada's oldest scienfitic agency.

U.S. Geologic Survey (USGS)  - Federal agency responsible for research in geologic processes and understanding their interaction with humans and environment.

Indexes significant Canadian government reports (federal, provincial, municipal) including research papers in physical, natural and social sciences. All reports are available in the Library on microfiche.
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA7 MC M31

 

Citation and Style Guides

These guides give information on the elements required when citing works and on presenting information clearly and succinctly. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.