Engineering Physics

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

HANDBOOKS

AIP Physics Desk Reference
Thode Ref. QC 61 .P49 2003

Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas
Thode Bookstacks QC 61 .W67 2000

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Also available in Print:
Thode Ref. QD 65.H23

Landolt-Börnstein: Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology
Thode Ref. Q 199 .L25A

The Mechatronics Handbook (2 vols.) 2nd. ed
Thode Bookstacks TJ 163.12 .M433 2008

Springer Handbook of Lasers and Optics

_________________________________________________________________________________________

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (5 vols.)
Thode Ref. QC 176.8 .N35D43 2004

Dictionary of Physics

Dictionary of Physics (4 vols.)
Thode Ref. QC 5 .L4913 2004

Electrochemical Dictionary

Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry (3 vols.)
Thode Ref. QD 451 .E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology 3rd ed.
Thode Ref. Q 123 .E497 2002

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

 

Article Databases / Indexes

INSPEC
Primarily a physics/astronomy, electrical engineering database; good coverage of inorganic chemistry and materials science

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
(1969 to present) Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.

Engineered Materials Abstracts
(1986 to present) Covers the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics and composites.

arXiv.org
Open access to almost 500,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics

Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
(1976 to present); Covers all sciences and indexes primarily journal literature (no patents, conference proceedings or book chapters are indexed); unique feature is the ability to search for citation of publications by an author.

CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
(1966 to present) Contains specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.

MathSciNet
(1940 to present) Primary database for mathematical information, including reviews and current publications on the web.

Scitation
Over 100 full-text journals from professional societies. Focus is on physics, astronomy, science and technology

Selected Journals

 

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

American Institute of Physics (AIP)
http://www.aip.org/

“Dedicated to the advancement of physics, AIP serves a federation of physical science societies, and provides leadership through its own programs and publications.”

American Mathematical Society
http://www.ams.org/

“The American Mathematical Society was founded in 1888 to further the interests of mathematics research and scholarship, and serves the national and international community through its meetings, publications, advocacy, and other programs.

American Physical Society
http://www.aps.org/

"In the firm belief that an understanding of the nature of the physical universe will be of benefit to all humanity, the Society shall have as its objective the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics."

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
http://www.siam.org/

“Applied mathematics, in partnership with computational science, is essential in solving many real-world problems. Through our publications, research, and community, the mission of SIAM is to build cooperation between mathematics and the worlds of science and technology.”