Engineering - Mechanical

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

HANDBOOKS

Access Engineering

Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations 2nd ed.

Machinery's Handbook 28th ed.
Thode Ref. TJ 151 .M3

Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers

Mechanical Design Handbook

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook (4 vols.)
Thode Ref. TJ 151 .M395 2006

Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering

Standard Handbook of Machine Design
Also available in print: 
Thode Ref. TJ 230 .S8235 2004

_______________________________________________________________________________________

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics (10 vols.)
Thode Ref. TA 357 .E53 1986

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (5 vols.)
Thode Ref. QC 176.8 .N35D43 2004

________________________________________________________________________________________

STANDARDS

ASTM Standards

CSA (Canadian Standards Association) Online

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
(1969 to present) Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.

Applied Mechanics Reviews

CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
(1966 to present) Contains specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.

Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
(1976 to present); Covers all sciences and indexes primarily journal literature (no patents, conference proceedings or book chapters are indexed); unique feature is the ability to search for citation of publications by an author.

Selected Journals

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

eiNET.net directory for Mechanical Engineering
http://www.einet.net/view/search.gst?k=mechanical+engineering

Scholarly Societies Project
http://www.scholarly-societies.org/mecheng_soc.html
Facilitating access to information about scholarly societies across the world since 1994

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
http://www.ashrae.org/
“The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers advances technology to serve humanity and promote a sustainable world. Membership is open to any person associated with the field.”

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
http://www.asme.org
“Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, today's ASME promotes the art, science & practice of mechanical & multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe.”

Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
http://www.csme-scgm.ca/
“The Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering is a society that brings together all mechanical engineering personnel, and engineers in other disciplines with interest in mechanical engineering.”

SAE International
http://www.sae.org/servlets/index
“SAE International has more than 90,000 members - engineers, business executives, educators, and students from more than 97 countries - who share information and exchange ideas for advancing the engineering of mobility systems. SAE is your one-stop resource for standards development , events , and technical information and expertise used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on land or sea, in air or space.”