Engineering - Civil

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

HANDBOOKS AND MANUALS

Access Engineering

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice 
Thode Ref. TA 682 .A5 2009

Civil Engineering Formulas

The Civil Engineering Handbook
Thode Ref. TA 151 .C57 2003

Earthquake Engineering Handbook
Thode Ref. TA 654.6 .E374 2003

Foundation Engineering Handbook:  Design and Construction with the 2006 International Building Code
Thode Ref. TA 775 .D39 2006

Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering Handbook
Also available in print:  Thode Ref. TA 654.6 .D38 2002

Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations 2nd ed.

Practical Foundation Engineering Handbook 2nd ed.

Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers 5th ed.
Also available in print:  Thode Ref. TA 151 .S8 2004

____________________________________________________________________________________

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Civil Engineering
Thode Ref. TA 9 .K88 2004

Wiley Dictionary of Civil Engineering and Construction
Thode Ref. TA 9 .W44 1997

____________________________________________________________________________________

STANDARDS

ASTM Standards 

CSA (Canadian Standards Association) Online

 

 

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
(1969 to present) Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.

International Civil Engineering Abstracts
(1976 to present) “The International Civil Engineering Abstracts journal coverage list, spanning more than 150 titles, has been compiled from the library holdings of established civil engineering and building science centres of excellence worldwide, and further accredited by members of the International Civil Engineering Abstracts Accreditation Board.”

ACSE’s Civil Engineering Database
(1970 to present) Provides Access to over 100,000 Bibliographic and Abstracted Records

TRID:  Transportation Research
Free online database which includes information (eg. journal articles, technical reports) from the U.S. Department of Transportation and OECD's international transport research documentation.

Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
(1976 to present) Covers all sciences and indexes primarily journal literature (no patents, conference proceedings or book chapters are indexed); unique feature is the ability to search for citation of publications by an author.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts

(1983 to present indexing and 1993 to present with abstracts) Abstracts of journal articles, trade publications, buyers’ guides, conference proceedings, etc. in the area of applied science and technology.

GeoRefS
(1785 to present) Covers worldwide literature on geology and earth sciences, with referencing for over 2.3 million items.

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

iCivil Engineer
http://www.icivilengineer.com/

“The Internet for Civil Engineers”

Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
http://www.tenlinks.com/engineering/civil/

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
http://www.asce.org/asce.cfm

The ASCE is the oldest national (US) organization for civil engineering, as well as being the world’s largest publisher of civil engineering information.

Canadian Society for Civil Engineering (CSCE)
http://www.csce.ca/

“The CSCE is a learned society intended to develop and maintain high standards of civil engineering practice in Canada and to enhance the public image of the civil engineering profession.”

Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
http://www.ice.org.uk/homepage/index.asp

ICE is a global membership organization that promotes and advances civil engineering around the world

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

National Technical Information Service
http://www.ntis.gov/

The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.