Engineering - Biomedical
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Biomaterials Science: An Introduction to Materials in Medicine, 2nd ed.
Also available in print: Thode R 857 .M3B5735 2004
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, 2nd ed.
Biomedical Engineering Handbook, 3rd ed.
Thode R 856.15 .B56 2006
Biomedical Technology and Devices Handbook
Thode R 856.15 .B565 2004
Biotechnology: A Multi-Volume Comprehensive Treatise
Thode Ref. TP 248.2 .B5465 1991
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering
Thode Ref. R 857 .M3E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Thode Ref. QC 176.8 .N35E53 2004
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering, 2nd ed.
Also available in print: Thode R 856 .I47 2005
Ullmann's Biotechnology and Biochemical Engineering
Thode TP 248.2 .U44 2007
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Knowledge)
(1995 to present)
Covers all aspects of biology, such as botany, zoology, microbiology, ecology and related fields, such as biomedical, biophysics, biochemistry, bioengineering and biotechnology. Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, US patents, book reviews, book chapters and software.
Compendex(via Engineering Village)
(1969 to present)
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
(1966 to present)
Contains specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications.
IEEE Xplore
(1988 to present with some earlier coverage)
Provides access to abstracts and fulltext of IEEE and IET publications including journals, transactions, conference proceedings and standards.
INSPEC (via Engineering Village)
(1969 to present)
A bibliographic database that indexes world-wide literature on physics, astronomy/astrophysics, electronics, electrical engineering, control theory and technology, computers and computing.
MEDLINE (via OVID)
(1966 to present)
The world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PUBMED.
Science Citation Index Expanded (via Web of Knowledge)
(1976 to present)
Covers all sciences and indexes primarily journal literature (no patents, conference proceedings or book chapters are indexed); unique feature is the ability to search for citation of publications by author or cited work.
SciFinder Scholar
(1907 to present: includes Medline from 1950 to present)
Major bibliographic database for all aspects of chemistry; also covers chemical engineering, biochemistry and related sciences.
Websites
biomat.net (the biomaterials network)
Biomat.net is aimed at linking the Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering community worldwide. The website provides updated news in the field, delivered through a monthly newsletter, and also a collection of selected internet links related to Biomaterials Science and Tissue Engineering, as well as relevant links to biomedical engineering, biology, medicine and health sciences in general.
BMEnet(The Biomedical Engineering Network)
Includes links to publications, job postings, conferences, societies, and websites relevant to biomedical engineering.
bmesource.org
bmesource.org is a shared web portal for the biomedical technology design community. It provides an updated guide to high-quality, basic information about clinical problems and biomedical technologies that address them.
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
NCBI has a multi-disciplinary research group composed of computer scientists, molecular biologists, mathematicians, biochemists, research physicians, and structural biologists concentrating on basic and applied research in computational molecular biology.
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering
The National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) is dedicated to improving human health through the integration of the physical and biological sciences.
Associations & Organizations
American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
AIMBE serves and coordinates a broad constituency of medical and biological scientists and practitioners, scientific and engineering societies, academic departments and industries.
Biomedical Engineering Society
The vision of the Biomedical Engineering Society is to serve as the lead society and professional home for biomedical engineering and bioengineering by fostering translation of biomedical engineering and technology into industrial and clinical applications; holding top-quality scientific meetings, etc.
Canadian Medical and Biological Engineering Society
The Canadian Medical and Biological Engineering Society is Canada's principal society for engineering in medicine and
biology. The Society's aims are twofold: scientific and educational: directed toward the advancement of the theory and practice of medical device technology; and professional: directed toward the advancement of all individuals in Canada who are engaged in interdisciplinary work involving engineering, the life sciences and medicine.
IEEE EMBS (Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society)
IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) is the world's largest international society of biomedical engineers. It provides its members with access to people, practices, information, ideas, and opinions, from one of science's fastest growing fields.
Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS)
The IBMS is the professional body for biomedical scientists in the United Kingdom. It aims to promote and develop the role of biomedical science within healthcare to deliver the best possible service for patient care and safety.
International Society of Biomechanics
The International Society of Biomechanics (ISB) was founded to promote the study of all areas of biomechanics at the international level, although special emphasis is given to the biomechanics of Human Movement.
Society for Biomaterials
The Society For Biomaterials is a professional society which promotes advances in biomedical materials research and development by encouragement of cooperative educational programs, clinical applications, and professional standards in the biomaterials field.
Patents
Patents
A patent is a legal agreement between a government and an inventor which gives the inventor the right to stop others from making, using or selling that invention. For more information see Find Patents.
- Canadian Patents Database This database contains patent documents from 1869 to the present. This database is updated regularly with newly granted patents and applications opened to public inspection. The electronically available patent information consists of patent document images and bibliographic and text data.
- DEPATISnet contains patents from the German patent information system.
- European Patent Office Database (esp@cenet) esp@cenet is the freely available database to patent information. European patents are searchable in the esp@cenet database. The full text images of the documents in esp@cenet are available as PDF files.
- FreePatentsOnline.com FreePatentsOnline.com provides fast, easy-to-use and free access to millions of patents and patent applications from the United States, Europe, Japan, and WIPO.
- FreshPatents Provides access to the latest U.S. patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to grant/deny.
- Google Patents Searchable full text/full page images of U.S. patents from USPTO. It is an alternative interface to searching USPTO. It is google, so it is easy to search.
- Japan Patent Office The Japan Patent Office (JPO) is responsible for the protection of the rights for patents for inventions, utility models for devices, industrial designs, and trademarks in Japan.
- LexisNexis provides access to over 5,000 sources including patents covering a wide range of subject areas.
- pat2pdf.org Free patent search tool that when given a patent number, will return an image of the patent as a single PDF file. (Note: the USPTO website requires downloading a browser plug-in in order to view images. This website makes it easier to view images).
- PatentLens A worldwide, open-access, free full-text patent informatics resource. Includes patents from the U.S., Europe, Australia and WIPO and counterparts in several countries.
- PatentScope (World Intellectual Property Organization) This facility allows you to search over 1.5 million international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents available to the International Bureau.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office Searchable, full-text database from January 1, 1976 onward (full-page images since1790). To view and print patents in PDF for free, a viewer software needs to be installed.
Patent Tutorials
MIT Video Tutorials:
- An introduction: Why search for patents? What is a patent? (5:21)
- What does a patent look like? (2:23)
- How to search for patents (7:44)
- Which search tool should I use? Why shouldn't I just use Google? (5:29)
How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search: A step by step strategy - USPTO (36 minutes)
International Intellectual Property Searching - McKinney Engineering Library
Patent Research Tutorial - University of Central Florida
Schreyer Business Library's Patent Search Tutorial - Penn State University

