Communication Studies

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology. Steve Jones, ed.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) QA 76.575 .E5368 2003

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. Jorge Reina Schement, ed.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics . 4 v. William Frawley, ed.

The Linguistics Encyclopedia . Kirsten Malmkjaer, ed.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. P. H. Matthews.
 

A Glossary of Sociolinguistics. Peter Trudgill.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) P 40 .T747 2003

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications . 4 v. Donald H. Johnston, editor-in-chief.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) P 87.5 .E535 2003

The Languages of the World . 3rd. ed. Kenneth Katzner.
Location: MILLS BOOKSTACKS P 201 .K35 2002

Encyclopedia of Television . 4 v. Horace Newcomb, ed.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) PN 1992.18 .E53 2004

World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide . Amanda C. Quick, project editor.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) PN 4728 .Q53 2003

Censorship: A World Encyclopedia . Derek Jones, ed.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) Z 657 .C39 2001

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric . Thomas O. Sloane, editor-in-chief.
Location: MILLS REFERENCE (2nd Floor) PN 172 .E52 2001

Folklore, Cultural Performances, and Popular Entertainments: A Communications Centered Handbook . Richard Bauman, ed.
Location: MILLS BOOKSTACKS GR 35 .F64 1992

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for communication studies include:

 
New Titles
Click here
to view recently received titles related to Communication Studies

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Ad*Access
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/browse.html
A pilot project to make a selection of historical advertisements available for study and research.

The American Communication Association Online
http://www.americancomm.org/
An association committed to enabling the effective use of new and evolving technologies to facilitate communication instruction, research and criticism, and to offering a technologically supportive venue for all who study the ways in which humans communicate.

Associations & Organizations on Communication Studies
http://www.lib.washington.edu/subject/communications/lrcs/assoc.html
A list of select academic associations and organizations within the field of communication studies.

Canadian Communications Association / Association Canadienne de Communication
http://www.acc-cca.ca/
Bilingual, national organization promoting the investigation of communication issues in Canada.

Center for Non-Verbal Studies (includes non-verbal dictionary)
http://members.aol.com/nonverbal2/index.htm
The Center's mission is to advance the study of human communication in all its forms apart from language. The Center's goal is to promote the scientific study of nonverbal communication, which includes body movement, gesture, facial expression, adornment and fashion, architecture, mass media, and consumer-product design.

Online Communications Studies Resources - University of Iowa
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/index.html
A list of online resources useful in communications studies.