International Business and Marketing

Course code: Commerce 4SA3
Course name: International Business
Course date: Fall 2014

This is a selective listing of print and electronic resources useful for international business research.

General
Useful for all environments / subject areas
Balance of Payments,
Currency & Trade
Company &
Industry Information
Cultural Issues Dictionaries & Research Guides Economic, Legal &
Political Issues
News Population Demographics Rankings

Other Useful links: Library Presentation Slides  |  Citation Guide for Business | Course Outline (Winter 2014): Stockton & Constantinou 

  General

  • Background Notes | Country Factsheets | U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (U.S. Department of State)
    Includes facts on countries around the world.
     
  • Best Bet!Business Environment Snapshots (World Bank Group)
    Site combines data from various sites to measure the business climate in 183 countries. Each country snapshot includes highlights, rankings (e.g., doing business, corruption, regulatory quality, country credit, economic freedom, political risk rating), quantitative data, legislation (e.g., commercial and company laws, labour laws) analytical work and project portfolio. Select an economy/country from the drop-down business environment snapshot menu.
     
  • Business Source Complete
    Includes country reports. Search for a country name and filter results by Country Reports or click on Country Reports on the Advanced Search screen (Business Searching Interface) and browse reports by country. 
     
  • Best Bet!Country Risk Assessments (Coface)
    Includes 158 country evaluations that provide an estimate of the average credit risk on a country’s businesses. Assessments (or rankings) of country risk and business climate give an indication of a country’s potential influence on businesses’ financial commitments. Choose a country from the drop-down menus to view profiles that include macroeconomic indicators, a list of strengths and weaknesses and country commentary. See also Coface's Handbook of Country Risk located in INNIS Reference HG 4538.R496 2013 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks).
     
  • Country Studies (Library of Congress)
    Contains social, political, economic, historical, and geographical information for countries around the world
     
  • Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World
    Provides cultural, political and trade data for 40 countries.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 1416.M78 2001
     
  • Best Bet!EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
     
  • Best Bet!EIU ViewsWire
     
  • Europa World Year Book, 2 vols.
    A good source of current facts and figures on countries around the world (not just Europe). Includes information on government systems & officials, political parties, economic statistics, and more. Organized alphabetically by country.
    Location: MILLS Quick Reference (1st floor) JA 51. E89 2013 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks) 
     
  • Eurostat (European Commission)
    Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. Site provides the European Union with statistics at the European level which facilitates comparisons between countries and regions. Search for statistics or browse statistics alphabetically (A-Z) or by theme.
     
  • Factiva
    Contains full-text newspapers from around the world and reports on companies.
     
  • Financial Times World Desk Reference 
    Provides physical, political, historical and economic overviews of the world. Covers 193 nations. Contains numerous color maps and charts.
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks AG 6. F56 2003 & 2004
     
  • Foreign Information by Country (UCB (University of Colorado Boulder) Libraries)
    A collection of links to Web sites for approximately 245 countries/territories. Each country profile has links related to a number of categories including government information, diplomatic relations, health, and peacekeeping & military information.
     
  • Best Bet!globalEDGE: Reference Desk (Michigan State University)
    Contains hundreds of links to sources of information on countries, international trade, statistical data, news, and periodicals. 
     
  • International Statistical Agencies
    A list of national statistical agencies worldwide organized by country.
     
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes U.S., Canadian and international company directories, market share information, industry reports, 350 full-text newspapers, and country profiles.
     
  • Best Bet!Market Research Library (U.S. Commercial Service)
    Select a country from the drop-down menu to view free Country Commercial Guides. Topics covered in these guides include: doing business (market overview, market challenges, market opportunities, market entry strategy), political and economic environment, trade regulations (e.g., trade barriers), customs and standards, investment climate, business travel and more. Guides are written from a U.S. perspective. NOTE: Access to Market Research Reports and Best Market Reports not readily available. May require registration.
     
  •  Mergent Online
    To access the country information, select a location from the drop-down Country Profile menu. Topics covered include history, geography, people, government, economy, communications and more.
     
  • McMaster's Library Catalogue
    Perform a SUBJECT search in the library catalogue to find books and government publications on your country. Potentially useful subject headings: Country name plus -- Commerce; -- Economic Conditions; -- Economic Policy; -- Foreign Economic Relations; -- Politics and Government; -- Social Conditions; -- Social Life and Customs (e.g. Canada -- Politics and Government)
     
  • NationMaster
    Centralizes country data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Allows you to compare and rank countries on a variety of variables, including education, labour, economy and more. Statistical maps and charts can also be generated.
     
  • OECD Factbook eXplorer
    Includes country facts and statistics on over 200 indicators. Coverage includes population and migration,  macroeconomic trends, prices, energy, labour, education, quality of life and inequality. eXplorer is an interactive tool for the visual presentation of country statistical analyses.
     
  • OECD iLibrary
    Contains statistics on OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) member countries. Also includes books and periodicals published by OECD since 1998. Search by keyword(s) or browse by country or theme.
     
  • OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
    A directory of Web sites containing social, economic, and general data, arranged alphabetically by country, by region, and by topic.
     
  • Best Bet!PwC's Worldwide Tax Summaries Online (WWTS)
    This Pricewaterhouse Coopers site contains current information about the tax systems in 152 countries. Select a country from a map or from a list. Each  profile includes a country overview, corporate and individual tax summaries.   
  • Best Bet! Taxation & Investment Guides and Country Highlights (Deloitte)
    Site contains guides providing information on the investment conditions, tax regimes and regulatory requirements of countries worldwide. The Taxation and Investment Guides cover the operating conditions and investment climate of almost 50 countries. Legal, accounting and taxation frameworks are included. The Highlights series provide a quick digest of the tax landscape of more than 150 countries.
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    Contains statistics in the areas of international merchandise trade, national acounts, demography and population, social indicators, and industry. 
     
  • World Almanac and Book of Facts
    Contains quick facts and figures on countries around the world.
    Location of Print: INNIS Reference AY 64.W92 2014 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks)
     
  • Best Bet!World Development Indicators
    Provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and development indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Search by country, series/topic and year. Also review the World dataBank site for additional databases and content.
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MG-W53 (1998 to 2009)
     
  • Best Bet!World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
    A comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues. 
     
  • Zanran
    A numerical data search engine. Find data and statistics in graphs, charts and tables.

Balance of Payments, Currency and Trade

  • Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund)
    One of the most comprehensive general sources of balance of payment statistics.
    Location: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MF-B17 (1981 to the present) | UN9 MF-B16 (1938-1980)
     
  • Canadian International Merchandise Trade (Statistics Canada)
    Publication contains occassional articles on Canadian trade and summary tables showing monthly, quarterly, and annual data on both a customs and balance of payments basis. Data are presented by principal trading area, country, commodity category and province.
     
  • Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund)
    Provides export and import figures for 150 countries. Also gives details of trade with major trading partners.
    Location: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MF-D38 (1958 to current)
     
  • Export.gov
    A U.S. government export portal that helps U.S. companies export. 
     
  • Exporters (Canada Trade Commissioner Service)
    Provides services to help Canadians in the international marketplace. Includes market reports, funding opportunities, trade controls, and more. 
     
  • Exporting, Importing and Investment Abroad (Canada Business Network for Entrepreneurs)
    Provides export information by the Canadian federal government. Includes foreign market data, laws & legislation, and more.
     
  • Exporting from Canada
    Guidebook covering the practical aspects of entering international markets. Covers topics such as market-entry planning, legal issues, shipping, promoting, and more.
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HF 1416.6.C2K38 2002
  • Best Bet!Handbook of Country Risk
    Provides trade exchange information such as top exports and imports by product for many countries. Also provides one to two page assessments/ratings of 157 countries that include country risk, business climate, main economic indicators and strengths & weaknesses.
    See also Coface's Country Risk Assessments web site for similar information.
    Location: INNIS Reference HG 4538.R496 2013 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks).
     
  • IMF (International Monetary Fund)
    The IMF is a specialized agency of the United Nations established to promote international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment. Site contains IMF surveys, working papers, and reports containing information on coutries around the world.
     
  • International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
    Contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas.
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MF-I52 (monthly)(1948 to present) / UN9 MF-I53 (annual) (1979 to the present)
     
  • International Trade and Market Access Data (World Trade Organization)
    This interactive tool consists of four sections: trade, trends, tariffs and MiWi (Made in the World). The Trade dashboard identifies leading traders (i.e., economic group, region, or country) by type of trade, commodity/sector, trade flow and year (1980 to current). The Trends dashboard tracks the evolution of trade between a country, region or economic group from 1980 to current. The Tariffs dashboard presents the most recent data available on market access for goods by country or customs region. The MiWi dashboard includes publications and data that addresses measuring and analyzing trade in value added. 
     
  • International Trade Center - Countries
    Select a country from the drop-down  Countries/Terrorities menu on the ITC toolbar to view trade and market profiles. Profiles can include a trade performance index, export performance, import profile, trade simulation, and trade statistics (imports and exports by product group).
     
  • International Trade Statistics Yearbook, (United Nations Statistical Office/Division) 
    Provides information on approximately 152 countries' external trade performances.
    Location: MILLS Quick Reference (1st floor) and Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 S30-Y31 (1950 to current)
     
  • Best Bet!OANDA Currency Converter
    Provides foreign exchange services and online tools. Has currency conversion information and other services for travelers and businesses. Also includes a number of historical exchange rates, some dating back to 1990.
     
  • Best Bet!OzForex Currency Converter
    Investigate seasonal patterns, long term charts, raw data, period average exchange rates - with 10 years of data and over 150 currencies. Explore the Historical Rate Tools (e.g., Monthly Average Rates, Historical Exchange Rates, Yearly Average Rates, etc.) to retrieve exchange rates back to 1990 for approximately 50 currencies.
     
  • Statistics Database (World Trade Organization)
    Contains trade and tariff profiles by country.
     
  • Trade Policy Reviews (World Trade Organization) 
    The World Trade Organization (WTO) produces periodic trade policy reviews for member countries. Reviews include an analysis of a country's role in world trade, its economic environment and trade policies. The WTO web site contains summaries of these reviews as well international trade statistics.
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 WTO13 -...(call number varies by country)
     
  • Best Bet!UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database)
    Provides import and export statistics from 1962 to the present for approximately 200 countries or areas.
     
  • World Tariff Profiles 2006 to current (WTO, ITC and UNCTAD)
    Lists tariffs imposed by each WTO member on its imports and provides an analysis of the market access conditions it faces in its major export markets. Includes summary tables and country-by-country breakdowns.
     

Company and Industry Information

  • Best Bet!Business Monitor International 
    Macroeconomic, financial, and company analysis on emerging and key global markets. Industries covered include: Autos, Chemicals, Commercial Banking, Defence & Security, Food & Drink, Freight Transport, Information Technology, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil & Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications, Tourism
  • Best Bet!Business Source Complete
    Contains company profiles (some with a SWOT analysis), industry profiles (overview, market value) and market research reports for countries around the world.
  • Canadian Company Capabilities (Industry Canada)
    Select the Detailed Search to find companies by name, employee size, sales, NAICS code, exporting markets and more. Type in your company name and click on the Search button. If your company is listed, click on the Complete Profile. It may contain a section onGeographic Markets..
     
  • CorporateInformation (Wright Investors' Service)
    Provides information on 30 industries and 60 countries. Get a list of companies covered in a particular industry and a list of relevant links and a brief synopsis of the industry.
     
  • Best Bet!Encyclopedia of Global Industries
    Profiles over 100 business sectors of global significance. Entries typically include sections on organization and structure, background and development, current conditions, research and technology, industry leaders and further reading. Organized alphabetically by industry (NAICS code).
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2324.E53 2007 (Previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)
     
  • Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Once connected to GVRL, click on Business > Encyclopedia of Products & Industries > eTable of Contents OR eBook Index to find an industry profile)
    Contains information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product - the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Covers manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, appliances, home furnishing and sporting goods. U.S. emphasis.
     
  • EuroPages: The European B2B Search Engine
    A multilingual business directory containing 2.3 million companies from 35 countries in Europe & links to international yellow pages. Search by product or service, by company name, or by activity or sector.
     
  • European Marketing Data and Statistics (see Passport for more recent data)
    Statistical information on Western and Eastern Europe.
    Location: MILLS Bookstacks HA 1107. E87 1998 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks and Storage)
     
  • Best Bet!Factiva
    Contains full-text newspapers from around the world and reports on companies. Also includes some industry related sources.
     
  • GEM: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
    Includes data sets and annual global and country specific reports related to entrepreneurship. 
     
  • Global Market Finder (Google)
    A Google service that helps identify which markets/countries present the best opportunities for products and services. Based on search volume and the cost of advertising. 
     
  • Best Bet!IBISWorld
    Contains over 1,000 U.S., 150 Canadian, and 75 global industry reports, many at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level. 
     
  • International Directory of Company Histories, 99 volumes
    Traces the historical development of over 4,500 of the largest and most influential public, private and non-profit companies around the world. Each volume has cumulative indexes: by company name (alphabetical), by industry, and by geography (country of company headquarters).
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2721.I57
      
  • International Marketing Data and Statistics (see Passport for more recent data)
    Statistical information on the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania
    Location: MILLS Bookstacks HA 42. I62 (1976-2006) 
     
  • International Marketing Forecasts (see Passport for more recent data)
    Contains growth predictions to 2008 for over 330 consumer products and up to 2016 for socio-economic indicators.
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HF 5410.I58 2003/2004
     
  • Kompass: Worldwide B to B Company Search Engine (some content is fee-based).
    A business to business directory containing more than 3 million international and domestic companies worldwide.
     
  • Best Bet!LexisNexis Academic
    Looking for Canadian companies located in other countries?
    • At the introductory search screen, select Search by Content Type > go to  Companies menu > select Company Profiles.
    • click Advanced Options
    • select International Company Reports in the Sources menu.
    • type Canada in the Segment Search box
    • click the Apply button
    • click the Search button
    • The resulting list should help you find Canadian companies in other countries. Look at the Full Document view to verify location and affiliation information.
    • Too many results? Try clustering your search results using the Result Groups menu or Edit Search by specifiying an industry.
       
  • Manufacturing Worldwide: Industry Analyses, Statistics, Products, and Leading Companies and Countries
    Provides manufacturing industry statistics for 190 countries around the world.
    Location: MILLS Bookstacks HD 9720.4 M36 1995 & 1998
     
  • Market Share Reporter
    A compilation of global market share data from periodical literature, competitive analysis and market research. Search by products and services; by company; by brands, by U.S. SIC and more.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 5410.M35 2013 & 2014 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks (previously titled World Market Share Reporter INNIS Bookstacks HD 2757.15 .W67 1997 to 2002).
     
  • Market Share Tracker 3rd ed.
    Provides market share data for top companies in each sector in 2001/2002. Identifies leading 5,200 companies worldwide.
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2757.15. G56 2003
     
  • Best Bet!Market Research Library (U.S. Commercial Service)
    Select a country from the drop-down menu to view free Country Commercial Guides. Topics covered in these guides include: doing business (market overview, market challenges, market opportunities, market entry strategy), political and economic environment, trade regulations, customs and standards, investment climate, business travel and more. Guides are written from a U.S. perspective. NOTE: Access to Market Research Reports and Best Market Reports require registration.
     
  • Best Bet!MarketResearch.com Academic
    Contains hundreds of market research reports, some covering markets outside of North America.
     
  • Best Bet!Mergent Online
    Contains company and financial data for publicly traded companies around the world. Search by company name, American  SIC or NAICS. 
     
  • Moody's / Mergent's International Manual, 1981-2008 [microfiche]
    Financial and business information on 11,000 corporations, sovereigns and institutions in 117 countries.
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2755.5 .M6 [microfiche](grey filing cabinets) 
     
  • Best Bet!Passport
    Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world. Try performing a keyword search for your country, industry or topic.
     
  • Principal International Business
    Directory of key companies worldwide. Companies organized by country and standard industry classification (SIC).
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 54.U5P74 2010/2011 (previous editions in Innis Bookstacks). NOTE: Subscription Cancelled.
     
  • Thomson ONE
    Contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms.
     
  • Who Buys What: Identifying International Spending Patterns by Lifestyle Groups (also check Passport)
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HF 5415.32. W468 2006 vols. 1 & 2
     
  • World Consumer Income and Expenditure Patterns (see Passport for more recent data)
    Contains statistics on the spending habits of consumers in 40 non-European countries. Has detailed annual data from 1990 to 1999.
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HC 79 .C6W67 2001
     
  • World Consumer Lifestyles Databook: Key Trends (see Passport for more recent data)
    Provides statistical data on the habits, spending patterns and lifestyle choices of consumers from 71 countries worldwide.
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HF 5415.3 .W67 2002
     
  • World Cost of Living Survey
    Location: MILLS Bookstacks HD 6977.W77 1997 & 1999
     

Cultural Issues

  • Afrobaromater - Africa Public Opinion Research
    Measures attitudes on economic, political, and social issues in sub-Saharan Africa. Try the Online Data Analysis link to retrieve survey data for specific countries.
     
  • Best Bet! Consumer Lifestyles via Passport
    Once connected, click on COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS (across top of screen) > choose CONSUMER TRENDS AND LIFESTYLES from the menu > select a country from the CONSUMER LIFESTYLES drop-down menu. Profiles include analysis of household profiles, income, education, eating and drinking habits, shopping habits, leisure and tourism.
     
  • Countries and their Cultures
    Covers 225 countries. Topics covered include social stratification, gender roles and status, etiquette, socialization, political life, etc.
    Location of Print: MILLS Bookstacks GN 307.C68 2001 (4 volumes)
     
  • Country Insights (Centre for Intercultural Learning)(Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
    Provides answers to a variety of intercultural questions from a Canadian and a local point of view. Topics covered include: conversations; communication styles; display of emotion; dress, punctuality & formality; preferred managerial qualities; hierarchy and decision-making; religion, class, ethnicity & gender; relationship-building;  privileges and favouritism; conflicts in the workplace; motivating local colleagues; recommended books, films & foods; in-country activities;  national heroes; shared historical events with Canada; and stereotypes.
     
  • Best Bet!Craighead's International Business, Travel, and Relocation Guide to 84 Countries
    Provides in-depth practical information about living and doing business in several countries important to international business. Each country profile contains the following sections: Orientation; Relocation information; Business Practices; Social Customs, Finding a Home; and Country Resources.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 5549.5 .E45D56 2002/2003
     
  • Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World
    Provides cultural and social tips for 40 countries.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 1416.M78 2001
     
  • Earth Calendar
    A daybook of holidays and celebrations around the world. Browse holidays by date, country, religion or lunar phases.
     
  • Eurobarometer - Public Opinion Analysis (European Commission)
    Includes surveys and studies that deal with issues concerning European countries including social situation, health, culture, Information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, and more.
     
  • ExecutivePlanet
    Covers business etiquette, customs and culture in several countries. Topics include negotiating, entertaining, public behaviour, business dress, conversation and more.
     
  • Exporters' Encyclopedia
    Each country profile has a section on Business Travel which includes business customs and etiquette.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 3011.E9 2008/2009 (ceased publication)
     
  • International Business Etiquette, Manners & Cultures
    Provides cultural profiles for 32 countries and six regions around the world. Each profile typically include sections on cultural dynamics, religion, appearance, behaviour, communication and additional resources. Scroll to the middle of the page to select a country or region.
     
  • Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: The Bestselling Guide to Doing Business in more than 60 Countries
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 5389 .M67 2006
     
  • Trend Briefings (trendwatching.com), 2002 to current
    Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.
     
  • World Business Culture
    Site provides business culture information for approximately 40 countries. Each country profile contains brief information on topics such as business structures, management style, communication style, business dress code, and entertaining. 
     
  • World Values Survey
    Provides the state of sociocultural, moral, religious and political values of different cultures around the world. To retrieve survey data for specific countries, select Online Data Analysis in the left navigation menu > click HERE at the foot of the next page > click WVS 2005-2008 or  Four-wave Aggregate of the Values Studies > select countries and follow steps on subsequent pages.
     
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
    Includes 500 cultures, listed in alphabetical order by region. A country index is included in the front of each volume. Entries typically cover customs, religion, education, human rights issues, interpersonal relations, living conditions, family life, food, work, and more.
    Location: MILLS Bookstacks GN 333.W67 1998 (4 volumes)
     

Dictionaries and Research Guides

  • Dictionary of International Business Terms
    Lists over 4,000 international business trade and 400 Internet terms.
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 62.4 C36 2004 (previous edition 1996 in INNIS Bookstacks)
     
  • International Business Information: How To Find It, How To Use It, 2nd ed.
    Excellent resource for identifying sources of international business information.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 54.5 P33 1998
     
  • International Business Research: Strategies and Resources
    Chapters identify sources, organizations, and websites that list resources for specific regions and countries; how to find international company information and financial data; the major classification schemes used to find relevant industry data, including import/export statistics; and international market and industry research.
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2755.5 .G535 2013

Economic, Legal and Political Issues

  • Atlas of Human Rights: Mapping Violations of Freedom Around the Globe
    Location: MILLS Maps (1st floor) G 1046 .E625F34 2010
     
  • Amnesty International Online
    Includes human rights information by country and by topic. Use the drop-down menus in the right navigation menu.
     
  • Business and Human Rights Resource Centre
    Site tracks the positive and negative impacts of over 5,000 companies worldwide. Search or browse by companies, issues and countries.
     
  • Business Monitor International
     
  • Central Bank and Monetary Authorities Websites (Bank for International Settlements)
    A list of central banks by country.
     
  • CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
    A full-text database containing working papers, journals, books, policy briefs and case studies related to international affairs.
     
  • Country Reports on Terrorism (U.S. Department of State)
    Annual review of terrorist activities by country or region.
     
  • Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulations (World Bank)
    Provides indicators of the cost of doing business by identifying specific regulations that enhance or constrain business investment, productivity, and growth. Regions and countries are ranked on topics such as starting a business, enforcing contracts, licenses, hiring and firing, credit, taxes, and cross border trading. Also includes annual reports for countries and links to laws. 
     
  • EconLit
    Indexes articles from over 750 major economics journals.
     
  • Best Bet!EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
     
  • Best Bet!EIU ViewsWire
    Try browsing By Country. Select your country from the drop-down menu and click on one of the topics (e.g., Politics, Regulations, etc.) to see a list of subtopics or articles.
     
  • Europa World Yearbook
    A good source of current facts and figures on all countries in the world. Includes information on government systems & officials, political parties, economic statistics, and more. Organized alphabetically by country.
    Location: MILLS Quick Reference (1st floor) JA 51. E89 2013 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks) 
     
  • Best Bet!Exporters' Encyclopedia
    A comprehensive guide to global market and export information on more than 220 countries. Each country profile includes information about trade regulations, marketing data, transportation, business travel and more.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 3011.E9 2008/2009 (ceased publication)
     
  • Global Corruption Reports (Transparency International), 2001 to the present
    Countries are ranked in a Bribe Payers Index and a Corruption Perceptions Index.
    Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks JF 1081 .G66 2001 to 2009
     
  • Global Terrorism Database
    An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2008. Search  or browse by date, region, country, perpetrator, weapon type, attack type and target type.
     
  • GlobaLex (Hauser Global Law School, NYU)
    Resources are divided into several categories. The International Law Research section includes guides on over 20 topics (e.g., international terrorism, international trade, etc.) and the Foreign Law Research section contains entries on over 100 countries.
     
  • Global Slavery Index (Walk Free Foundation)
    Ranks countries according to the number of people living as slaves. Includes anyone who is forced into unpaid labour or debt bondage, is trafficked for sex purposes, or is born into servitude.
     
  • Handbook of Country Risk
    Provides trading risk analysis & ratings for over 155 countries and key economic indicators. See also Coface's Country Risk Assessments web site for similar information.
    Location of Print:  INNIS Reference HG 4538.R496 2013 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks).
     
  • Human Development Reports (United Nations Development Programme), 1990 to the present
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 DE-H72 (1990, 1994 to the present)
     
  • Human Rights Watch
    Provides human rights reports by region, country and theme.
     
  • Human Security Report Project (Simon Fraser University)
    • Human Security Report, 2005 to current
      Provides information and analyses on global and regional trends in armed conflict and other forms of organized violence.
    • MiniAtlas of Human Security
      An illustrated guide to global and regional trends in human insecurity. It maps political violence, the links between poverty and conflict, assaults on human rights and the causes of war and peace.
    • Security Statistics, 1946 to current
      Provides organized violence and conflict data by region.
       
  • IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions) World Report
    Contains details of freedom of access to information, freedom of expression, censorship and related issues in 122 countries. Access is provided by country (map or text) or by topic.
  • International Law Resources (Washlaw)
    Provides links to primary foreign and international legal resources, research aids, and sites useful in conducting research in these areas of the law. Search by region or by subject.
     
  • Investment Climate Statements, 2009 to current (U.S. Department of State)
    Statements cover general characteristics, such as openness to foreign investment and treatment of foreign investors, as well as details about procedures for licensing and similar administrative matters.
     
  • JuriGlobe: World Legal Systems
    Provides general information relating to the different legal systems in the world, to the different official languages and to some of the most important international commercial conventions, as well as other multilateral commercial tools.
     
  • LABORSTA Internet
    Provides labour related data (e.g., unemployment, hours of work, wages, etc.) for over 200 countries around the world.
     
  • Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia
    Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) K 48.L44 2002 (4 volumes)
     
  • Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence - CERI (Center for International Studies and Research)
    A peer-reviewed online encyclopedia that chronicles mass violence on an international level. Browse by geography, chronology, theme and more.
     
  • PRS Group Political Risk Services
  • PRS Group International Country Risk Guide
    Provides political, economic and financial risk analysis for approx. 100 countries. To retrieve a country report in LexisNexis Academic, type: COUNTRY(name of country) e.g., COUNTRY(Austria) 
     
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Indexes articles from over 1,400 journals in political science.
     
  • Year Book of Labour Statistics, 1943 to 2009
    Presents labour statistics (employment, unemployment, wages, hours of work, etc.) for more than 180 countries.
    Location: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 L3-Y21

News


Population Demographics

  • Demographic Yearbook (United Nations), 1948 to the present
    Contains demographic data (population by age, by sex, etc.) for more than 160 countries.
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 S30-D29 (1948 to the present)
     
  • The Future Demographic: Global Population Trends & Forecasts to 2010 and Beyond (see Passport for more recent data)
    Location: INNIS Reference HA 155.F88 2004
     
  • The Human Mortality Database (Free registration required to access data)
    Site provides detailed mortality and population data such as births, deaths, population size and life expectancy for 37 countries.
     
  • Population and Vital Statistics Report (United Nations), 2006 to the present
    Presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years. 
     
  • Population Reference Bureau: DataFinder
    Contains data on 133 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. The country drop-down menu provide demographic profiles and links to policy briefs, data sheets and more.
     
  • Best Bet!World Development Indicators (World Bank)
    Provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and development indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Search by country, series/topic and year. Also review the World dataBank site for additional content.
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MG-W53 (1998 to 2009)
     
  • World Population Prospects
    Contains population estimates and projections for countries around the world. Coverage is between 1950 to 2100.

Rankings

  • Best Global Brands, 2001 to present (Interbrand Surveys & Research)
    Use Best Global Brands drop-down menu in toolbar to view reports from previous years.
     
  • Competitiveness Reports (World Economic Forum)
    Full-text access to a number of international competitiveness reports that rank countries by a variety of criteria. Site includes Global Competitiveness Report, Global Gender Gap Report, Global Information Technology Report, Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report and many more publications.
     
  • Ease of Doing Business Index (World Bank)
    Countries are ranked on their ease of doing business,  with first place being the best. A high ranking means the regulatory environment is conducive to the operation of business. This index averages the country's percentile rankings on 10 topics, made up of a variety of indicators, giving equal weight to each topic. 
     
  • Failed States Index, 2005 to present
    Ranks over 170 countries by twelve social, economic and political/military criteria that affect peace and security.
     
  • Fortune 500 Companies, 1996 to current
    Fortune 500 Companies, 1955 to2005
    A list of the largest corporations in the United States. Select relevant year(s) from drop-down menu.
     
  • Fortune Global 500, 1995 to present
    A list of the largest corporations worldwide. Change dates in the drop-down menu.
     
  • Best Bet!Global Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum)
    Ranks countries according to a competitiveness index. It assesses the comparative strengths and weaknesses of approx. 130 national economies. Rankings are based on quantitative data and survey data (responses from business leaders).
    Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks  HF 1414 .G559 (1999 to 2008)
     
  • Global Corruption Reports, 2001 to present
    Countries are ranked in a Bribe Payers Index and a Corruption Perceptions Index.
    Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks JF 1081 .G66 2001 to 2009
     
  • Global Information Technology Reports 
    Ranks over 130 economies worldwide on technological readiness and innovation.
    Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks HC 79 .I55G55 2003-2008
  • Global Slavery Index (Walk Free Foundation)
    Ranks countries according to the number of people living as slaves. Includes anyone who is forced into unpaid labour or debt bondage, is trafficked for sex purposes, or is born into servitude
     
  • Happy Planet Index
    Measures the "efficiency with which countries convert the earth's finite resources into well-being experienced by their citizens." Based on calculations of life satisfaction and life expectancy in terms of ecological footprint.
     
  • Human Development Reports (United Nations Development Programme), 1990 to the present
    Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 DE-H72 (1990, 1994 to the present)
     
  • Marketing Charts
    Contains statistics, charts and articles on the top players within a specific category such as automotive, retail, entertainment, advertising and more.
     
  • Best Bet!NationMaster
    Centralizes country data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Allows you to compare and rank countries on a variety of variables, including education, labour, economy and more. Statistical maps and charts can also be generated.
     
  • OECD Better Life Index (OECD)
    Website presents data and ratings on indicators related to "material living conditions and quality of life" for OECD's 34 member countries, along with Brazil and Russia. Rankings for housing, income, jobs, health, community, education, environment, civic engagement, life satisfaction, safety, and work-life balance are included.
     
  • SHOW: A new way to look at the world
    Site generates cartograms that show various places in the world based on thematic characteristics such as people, planet, business, politics and more. Maps for the world, Japan and the USA are included.  
     
  • The Web Index (World Wide Web Foundation)
    Provides a "multi-dimensional measure of the Web’s growth, utility and impact on people and nations. It covers 61 developed and developing countries, incorporating indicators that assess the political, economic and social impact of the Web, as well as indicators of Web connectivity and infrastructure". 
  • World Database of Happiness
    Site contains a bibliography of more than 7,000 publications, approx. 760 measures of happiness in more than 1,500 studies, and data covering 165 countries. Search for keywords or browse links in left navigation menu. 
  • World's Most Ethical Companies Rankings  (Ethisphere Institute)
    Ranks companies based on corporate citizenship and responsibility, corporate governance, innovation that contributes to public well being, industry leadership, executive leadership & tone from the top, legal, regulatory & reputation track record and internal systems and ethics/compliance program.

 Last Reviewed: October 9, 2014