Canadian and Local Marketing Resources
Course code: Commerce 3MC3
Course name: Applied Marketing Management
Course date: Winter 2012
Other Useful Links: Library Presentation Slides | Citation Guide for Business | Course Outlines (Winter 2012): Kacker | Malik | Ryder | Sample Commerce 3MC3 Market Research Reports (INNIS Reserve)
Newspaper, Magazine & Journal Article Databases
Business Source Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for over 1,000 peer-reviewed business publications.
CBCA Reference & Current Events, 1980's to the present, but varies by title
Indexes articles from several Canadian newspapers, newswires, newsmagazines, television and radio transcrpts. Also provides access to articles from over 500 Canadian journals, magazines, and newsletters. Selected full-text.
CPI.Q, 1980 to the present
Provides articles from 400 periodicals with significant Canadian content. Full text of 150 titles, including the ROB section of the Globe & Mail.
Factiva , dates vary by publication
Contains approx. 1,000 full-text newspapers from 87 countries in 22 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. Includes full-text articles from the Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star & Hamilton Spectator. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try LexisNexis and CBCA.
LexisNexis Academic , dates vary by publication
Includes 350 full-text newspapers from around the world. [At the initial search screen, click on NEWS].
Canadian Company Directories
Canadian Business Database
An online directory including over 1.5 million Canadian businesses (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including SIC or NAICS code), location, employee size and sales ranges.
Canadian Key Business Directory (Dun & Bradstreet)
Useful for finding key players in the industry by SIC codes
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223. C18 2012 (previous editions in Innis Bookstacks)
Mergent Online
Contains information on approximately 2,000 Canadian companies. Search by company name or by U.S. SIC or NAICS.
Scott's Directories, 7 vols.
Directory of Canadian companies by name, location and Canadian NAICS code. Primarily includes manufacturing and wholesale companies.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223 .S?? 2011 [call number varies by volume] (previous editions in INNIS and MILLS Bookstacks)
Industry Classification Codes
Directories and databases often arrange company information by industry classification codes (hierarchical numbers assigned to companies engaged in the same activity). Two classification codes are currently in use in Canada: the older Standard Industrial Classification System (SIC codes) and the newer North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
North American Industry Classification System: Canada 2007 (Statistics Canada)
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 1401.5 .N67 2007
Standard Industrial Classification Manual (Dun & Bradstreet)
Location: INNIS Reference HF 1044 .C2D85 1986
Industry Resources
Associations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre (current)
Identifies Canadian trade association web sites that can contain statistics, trends, legal and regulatory information on an industry.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88 2011 (previous editions in MILLS and THODE libraries)
Business Monitor International
Select CANADA from the drop-down GEOGRAPHY menu. View Industry Surveys (e.g., Telecommunications, Energy, Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Transport, etc.), forecasts and risk ratings for Canada.
Business Plans and Profiles Index (Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh)
A subject guide to sample business plans and profiles for specific business types.
Business Source Complete
Find Canadian industry reports by clicking on INDUSTRY PROFILES on the Basic or Advanced Search screen. Click on the COUNTRY tab and select CANADA to view the reports relevant to Canada.
Canadian Business Patterns, 1988-
Provides counts of business establishments in Canada by geography, industry (e.g., NAICS) and number of employees.
Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor) and INNIS Library (years 1997 to 2011 only)[Click on Start>Programs>Canadian Business Patterns | User Guide]
CANSIM (updated daily) | CANSIM via E-STAT (updated annually) - (Statistics Canada)
Contains industry related statistics which may help with industry size/sales over time.
To browse for statistics/tables in CANSIM or E-STAT:
• In CANSIM browse by subject or survey on the introductory search screen; In E-STAT, select the Table of contents link in the left navigation menu to browse subjects.
• Select your industry type (e.g., Manufacturing)
• Click on an industry from the listing displayed (e.g., Manufacturing industries)
• Review the tables listed and select the ones that fit your industry
• Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed
To search for statistics/tables in CANSIM or E-STAT:
• Search for word(s) that best describe your industry or type in a CANSIM table number like the ones noted below.
• Review the tables retrieved and select the ones that fit your industry
• Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed.
Some popular CANSIM tables :
080-0009 Survey of large retailers, monthly (dollars), 1997 to current.
080-0018 Retail commodity survey based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (dollars), 1998 to current
080-0019 Retail commodity sales, by retail trade sector based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (dollars), 1998 to current
080-0020 Retail trade, sales by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), monthly (dollars), Jan 1991 to current
080-0021 Retail trade, sales, chained dollars and price index based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), monthly, Jan 2004 to current
301-0006 Principal statistics for manufacturing industries, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars), 2004 to current (i.e., 2009)
304-0014 Manufacturers' sales, inventories, orders and inventory to sales ratios, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Canada, monthly (dollars unless otherwise noted), 1992 to current
351-0002 Summary statistics for traveller accommodation (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual, 1998 to current (i.e., 2009)
353-0003 Operating and financial summary of the cable and other program distribution industry, by North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 1998 to current (i.e., 2009)
355-0005 Summary statistics for food services and drinking places (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 2001 to current (i.e., 2009)
355-0006 Monthly survey of food services and drinking places, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), 1998 to current
357-0001 Television broadcasting industry, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars), 1976 to 2008
359-0001 Summary statistics for personal services (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual, 1997 to current (i.e., 2009)
361-0003 Newspaper publishers, summary statistics, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual, 1999 to current (i.e., 2009)
361-0007 Book publishers, summary statistics, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars), 2004 to current (i.e., 2009)
361-0002 Summary statistics for arts, entertainment and recreation (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual *Terminated*, 1997 to 2005.
361-0012 Motion picture theatres, summary statistics, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 2005 to current (i.e., 2009)
361-0015 Amusement and recreation, summary statistics, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 2006 to current (i.e., 2009)
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains several current Canadian industry reports. Industries covered include: retail trade, paper products, auto parts, IT & communications, wood products, tourism, and food. Search by keywords or Browse by Topic > Industry Sector Economics.
Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Once connected to GVRL, click on Business>Encyclopedia of Products & Industries>eTable of Contents OR eBook Index to find an industry profile)
"Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Emphasizes manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, automobiles, appliances, business equipment, home furnishing and sporting goods." U.S. emphasis.
Finding Market Research on the Web, 3rd ed.
INNIS Reference HF 5415.2 .L36 2003
Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business, 1994-
Includes 15 key financial ratios by industry groupings compiled from the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS 2002).
Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS (1st floor)(1994-current) & INNIS Library (2003-2009) [Click on Start>Programs>Financial Performance Indicators ...]
IBISWorld
Contains over 700 U.S. and over 100 global industry reports at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level.
Index of Business Confidence via Conference Board of Canada e-Library
This quarterly survey poses ten qualitative questions regarding the business climate and investment intentions to senior officers of approximately 2,000 Canadian business organizations. Search or browse this publication by title.
Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios , 2004 to current
Provides a set of business ratios, measured as relationships between companies' balance sheet and income statement categories, across industries by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code. Canadian content.
Information by Industrial Sector (Industry Canada)
Contains industry-specific analysis and information on Canadian business.
Key Small Business Financing Statistics (SME Financing Data Initiative)
Addresses some of the most frequently asked questions about small and medium sized enterprise financing in Canada such as request rates, approval rates, amounts requested, amounts authorized, amounts outstanding by suppliers, loss rates, etc. Report also analyzes all types of financing (debt, leasing, risk capital) by sector, size of business, region and stage of business development.
Key Small Business Statistics (Industry Canada)
Includes a variety of statistics on small business including the number of businesses in Canada, number of employees, survival rates, e-business usage and contribution to GDP.
Marketing Facts: Statistics and Trends for Marketing in Canada 2011 (Canadian Marketing Association)
Contains statistics and benchmarks relevant to marketing in Canada. Topics covered include marketing media, industries, sought after market segments, consumer attitudes, and social media. Information is compiled from over 35 sources.
Previous edition (2008) located in INNIS Reference HF 5415.C2M36
MarketResearch.com Academic
Contains hundreds of market research reports, some covering Canada. Small, niche markets are often covered.
Mergent Industry Reports via Factiva
Includes North American industry reports which cover the U.S. and Canadian markets separately. The reports typically include a description of the current market environment, an industry profile, an analytical look at market trends, key points and references. To find Canadian reports, search and select Mergent Industry Reports from the Source menu. In the search box, type in the keyword(s) of your industry and/or "north america" and click Search. Click here for a sample search. Browse the results for reports with North America in the title. Canadian content should be included in the body of the report.
Ontario Sectors (Invest in Ontario)
Includes brief profiles of industry sectors in Ontario. Sectors covered include advanced manufacturing, aerospace, automotive, business services, digital media, environment & alternative energy, food processing, information technology, life sciences, materials, mining, nanotechnology and tourism investment.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
Includes over 2,000 market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Approximately 30 reports cover Canadian markets. Search by keyword(s) or browse by publication, region/country or market sector.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (subscription cancelled in 2010)
Contains profiles for over 50 industries in the U.S. Content may still be applicable to the Canadian environment.
Location: INNIS Reference HG 4915.S65 (previous issues in MILLS Periodicals)
Winspear Canadian Industry Database (University of Alberta Libraries)
Market Share
NOTE: No strictly Canadian compendium of market share information exists. You often have to gather the information yourself - by searching newspapers, magazine & journal databases, contacting the company, or calculating a rough estimate of market share using sales from the Canadian Business Database.
Canadian Business Database
An online directory of 1.5 million Canadian businesses (public & private). Can be searched by type of business (SIC or NAICS code), location, employee size and sales volume. Calculate a rough estimate of market share using sales ranges of companies in your industry. See: Calculating Market Share Using Canadian Business Database) for more information.
Market Share Reporter
Contains North American market share data on companies, products and services. Make sure Canada appears in your table title.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5410 .M35 2011 and 2012 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)
Market Share Tracker
Contains market share data for over 4,500 companies in key consumer goods markets worldwide.
Location: INNIS Reference HD 2757.15.G56 2003
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
Includes profiles for leading FMCG (Fast Moving Consumer Goods) companies along with financial, market share and brand information.
Demographic and Social Information
211Ontario.ca
Identifies community, social, health and related services offered by Ontario non-profits, community agencies and governments.
American Time Use: Who Spends How Long At What
Location: INNIS Reference HD 69 .T54A46 2007
Annual Demographic Estimates: Canada, Provinces and Territories (Statistics Canada)
Presents annual estimates of population for Canada, provinces and territories as well as estimates of the following components of population change: births, deaths, immigration, emigration, returning emigration, net temporary emigration, net non-permanent residents and inter-provincial migration, the latter by origin and destination.
Best customers : demographics of consumer demand, 6th ed.
Identifies who the best customers are for selected products and services. U.S. focus.
Location: INNIS Reference HC 79 .C6R87 2009 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)
Canadian Census 2011: Population and Dwelling Counts (Statistics Canada)
Only set of 2011 census data released to date.
Canadian Census Tract Profiles (2006) via Statistics Canada or E-STAT
Instructions for obtaining census data from E-STAT and Finding Data: An Intro to E-STAT illustrates how to find census information for Hamilton (census tract level (neighbourhoods)) Click Here for a census tract map of Hamilton. Other census maps can be accessed here.
Canadian Census Profiles 2006 by FSA (Forward Sortation Area) (Statistics Canada)
Retrieve the latest census data by FSA (forward sortation area) - the first three characters of a postal code. Select your postal code from the drop-down menu to view data for that area. Not sure of your FSA? Consult the FSA Maps from Canada Post (click the M icon). The site contains maps of postal code boundaries in Canada. NOTE: If you need census data by FSA before 2006, please contact Vivek Jadon, (jadonvs@mcmaster.ca, 905-525-9140 ext. 23848 ) Library Data Service Specialist in MILLS Library (1st floor).
Other Canadian Census 2006 Products (Statistics Canada)
- Census Trends (1996, 2001 and 2006)
A series of summary data trends spanning three censuses: 2006, 2001 and 1996. Facilitates the analysis and comparison of the changing demographic and socio-economic composition of selected geographic areas across Canada. National, provincial and metropolitan areas are covered. - Special Interest Profiles
FREE data for specific census topics and population groups according to selected demographic, cultural, and socio-economic characteristics. These detailed 'profile-type' tables expand the analytical depth of basic census information. - Topic Based Tabulations
A series of FREE and FEE based tables based on the various census topics. Browse by data topic or browse by variable categories (A to Z).
Canadian Social Trends (Statistics Canada)
Publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians. It contains the latest figures for major social indicators. Look for articles by year or by subject.
Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS11-C008 (1986 to current)
Consumer Lifestyles in Canada via Passport GMID
From the COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS menu across the top of the screen, select Consumer Trends and Lifestyles. From the Consumer Lifestyles drop-down menu, select CANADA.
Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Once connected to GVRL, click on Business > Encyclopedia of Products & Industries > eTable of Contents OR eBook Index to find an industry profile. Profiles typically include sections on Key Users and Target Markets & Segmentation. U.S. focus.
FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
Location: INNIS Reference HC 111.S96 2012 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks)
Index of Consumer Confidence via Conference Board of Canada e-Library
A monthly index constructed from responses to four attitudinal questions posed to a random sample of Canadian households. Search or browse by title.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Contains several market research reports related to demographics. Content primarily American.
Ontario Sites and Communities (Invest in Ontario)
Select an option from the left navigation menu. Profiles can include demographics, economic indicators and other statistics for the province and for communities in Ontario.
PRIZM C2 Lifestyle Lookup by Canadian Postal Code (Environics Analytics)
Click the Lifestyle Lookup button (far right) on the Environics Analytics home page and input a Canadian postal code to retrieve a lifestyle description for that neighbourhood. NOTE: This data is free to the general public. The Library does not subscribe to any Environics data or services.
Spending Patterns in Canada (Statistics Canada)
Presents statistical highlights and key tables from the Survey of Household Spending (SHS)(see below). The publication also includes analytical text, summary-level tables, a detailed table, notes and definitions, and information about survey methodology and data quality.
Survey of Household Spending (Statistics Canada) via CANSIM or E-STAT
This annual survey collects information about expenditures by households and families in Canada on a wide variety of goods and services, as well as their dwelling characteristics and possession of household equipment such as appliances, audio and video equipment, and vehicles. Available in CANSIM tables 203-0001 to 203-0020.
Statistics Canada
View Summary Tables or Census from the Statistics Canada web site to access FREE, but basic statistics.
Trend Briefings (trendwatching.com), 2002 to current
Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.
Who Buys What (Euromonitor)
INNIS Reference: HF 5415.32 .W468 2006
Other Business and Economic Statistics
Canadian Communications Pocket Book (formerly Canadian Marketing Pocket Book)
Covers many aspects of everyday life in Canada, from population to consumption trends in retail, advertising and media statistics.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5415.12.C35C336 2003, 2004 and 2006/07
CANSIM / CANSIM via E-STAT (Statistics Canada)
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains Canadian, provincial and metropolitan data and analysis. Reports include economic indicators such as employment, income, industry outlook, housing starts, migration and more.
The Daily (Statistics Canada)
This is Statistics Canada's official release bulletin, the Agency's first line of communication with the media and the public. The Daily issues news releases on current social and economic conditions and announces new products." Search the archive to identify publications and CANSIM tables relevant to your topic.
Industry Canada
Includes company and industry statistics, reports, etc.
Market Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)
Includes labour force, income, consumer expenditures, housing, etc. NOTE: This publication has been discontinued as of 2008.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HC 111.A19 (2008) & MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS 63 -C224 (1975 to 2008)
NOTE: The Library has negotiated arrangements with Statistics Canada for access to many of their priced publications. Speak to library staff before agreeing to purchase any data from their website.
Legal / Regulatory Information
Associations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre, current
A trade association web site may contain information on legislative issues related to a particular industry.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88 2011 (previous editions in MILLS and THODE Libraries)
Canadian Legal Information Institute
Centralizes links for federal and provincial legislation.
EIU ViewsWire
Select Canada from the list. Click on Regulations to see a breakdown of related topics.
How To Locate Canadian Legislation (University of Toronto - Bora Laskin Law Library)
Lists the different jurisdictions and provides links to the federal/provincial legislative bodies.
Newspaper, Magazine & Journal Databases
Search the article databases listed in this section of the guide. Type in your industry name (use synonyms) along with the following search words (regulatory or regulations or regulation or law or laws or legislation or act or acts or statute or statutes or bill or bills) to find articles that discuss the regulatory environment.
Advertising
CARD (Canadian Advertising Rates and Data), current
Provides very detailed advertising rates for newspapers, magazines, billboards and more.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5801.C35 (current issue only)
Marketing Facts: Statistics and Trends for Marketing in Canada 2011 (Canadian Marketing Association)
Contains Canadian advertising expenditures and profiles different media channels. Previous edition (2008) located in INNIS Reference HF 5415.C2M36
Media Digest
Provides general information on the Canadian media market. Includes readership, listenership and viewership figures.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808.C2C3 2011/2012 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)
Ethnic Media and Markets
Provides advertising rates for radio, television and print media targeted at various ethnocultural populations in Canada.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808.C2E86 2006
Hamilton Area Resources
211Ontario.ca
Identifies community, social, health and related services offered by Ontario non-profits, community agencies and governments. As of September 2010, this service now includes Hamilton.
Business Services Publications (Hamilton Economic Development)
Includes annual economic development reviews, sector profiles, strategic reports, plans & studies.
Canadian Census Profiles 2006 by FSA (Forward Sortation Area)
Retrieve the latest census data by FSA (forward sortation area) - the first three characters of a postal code. Select your postal code from the drop-down menu to view data for that area. Not sure of your FSA? Consult the FSA Maps from Canada Post (click the M icon). The site contains maps of postal code boundaries in Canada. NOTE: If you need census data by FSA before 2006, please contact Vivek Jadon, (jadonvs@mcmaster.ca, 905-525-9140 ext. 23848 ) Library Data Service Specialist in MILLS Library (1st floor).
Canadian Census Tract Profiles 2006 via Statistics Canada or E-STAT
Instructions for obtaining census data from E-STAT and Finding Data: An Intro to E-STAT illustrates how to find census information for Hamilton (census tract level (neighbourhoods)). Click Here for a census tract map of Hamilton.
Community Profiles: City of Hamilton (Invest in Ontario)
Explore the links on the page.
Community Profiles 2006 - Hamilton (City) (Statistics Canada)
Contains 2006 census data highlights for Hamilton (City)
Conference Board of Canada e-Library: Metropolitan Outlook
Search for Hamilton, or click on Topic in the left navigation menu, then Metropolitan under the Economic Trends heading. Scan the list for Hamilton.
Demographic & Statistics (Hamilton Economic Development)
Includes City of Hamilton ward profiles, Downtown Hamilton profile, growth forecasts, and more.
Hamilton Business Directory
Contains approximately 18,000 local business profiles. Search by company or browse by industry (NAICS)
Hamilton Spectator via LexisNexis (1991 to present) or Factiva (1986 to the present).
Full-text articles from the Hamilton Spectator. Search for the publication name in the Sources menu of these databases.
Some articles related to the 2006 Census:
- Your Changing Hamilton: 2006 Census Results
March 14, 2007: A1 | A11 | A12 - Common Knowledge: How Marketers See You - Special Report in the Hamilton Spectator
January 16, 2007: The neighbourhood
January 17, 2007: Comparing communities
January 18, 2007: Watch what you swipe
January 19, 2007: Hamilton's future
Landscapes of Retail Activity in Hamilton - Resource Listing
myhamilton.ca
Portal to all things Hamilton including information on business & industry and city & government.
Neighbourhood Association Directory (City of Hamilton - Planning & Economic Development)
Sample Commerce 3MC3 Market Research Reports
Location: INNIS Reserve (please take note of call numbers IPC ?)
Social Planning & Research Council of Hamilton
This non-profit organization helps community groups and organizations in the Hamilton area. Their reports typically cover poverty, homelessness and issues related to families and children. Recent community profiles of Ancaster, Dundas, Hamilton, Stoney Creek and the surrounding communities are also available.
Tables by Metropolitan Area: Hamilton (Statistics Canada)
Traffice Engineering and Operations (City of Hamilton)
Sample document at site: Traffic Counts and Studies 1999 traffic volumes by street in Hamilton NOTE: 131 page pdf document. Latest edition.
See also: Ontario Provincial Highways Traffic Volumes (1988 to 2008) (Ministry of Transportation)
Vernon's Business Sources. Hamilton & Niagara area edition for selected communities
A directory organized alphabetically by company name or by SIC code. Standard contact information provided.
Location: MILLS Bookstacks HF 5072.H3V4 (1992-2007, some years missing)
Last Reviewed: March 19, 2012

