Finding Canadian Business Information

Course code: Commerce 2MA3
Course name: Introduction to Marketing
Course date: Fall 2017

Company Directories
Competitors
Industry
Classification Codes
Company Info &
Financials
Market Share
Newspaper, Magazine & Journal Articles Industry Sources
Useful for all environments
(political, economic,social, environmental and technological) 
Demographic &
Social Information
Economic & Political Info  Other Business Statistics Legal/Regulatory Information Advertising

NOTE:

  • Key titles are marked with a Best Bet icon Best Bet!
  • Online sources accessible to everyone are marked with an Open Access icon open access
  • Online sources only accessible to current McMaster students, faculty and staff (MAC ID required) are marked with a McMaster icon McMaster Users Only 

Other Useful Links:  Commerce 2MA3 Course Outlines | Library Presentation SlidesCitation Guide for Business | How to Find a SWOT Analysis | How to Find Industry Reports


Company Directories / Competitors

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Database, current year only
An online directory listing over 1.9 million Canadian businesses (public & private). Can be searched by company name, type of business (including American SIC or NAICS code), location, employee size and sales ranges. Calculate a rough estimate of market share using sales ranges of companies in your industry. See this guide for more information. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 3 people at one time can use this database. If you are unable to access the database, please try again later.

McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Patterns (CBP) via ODESI, 1988 to current
Provides counts (not names) of business establishments in Canada by geography (country, province, census division, census metropolitan area) by industry (e.g., NAICS 2-6 digits) and by employment size ranges for several years (to be searched separately).
Other Locations: Library Data Service office in MILLS Library (1st floor) and INNIS Library (years 1997 to 2011 only)[Click on Start>Programs>Canadian Business Patterns]

Canadian Key Business Directory
Useful for finding key players in the Canadian market by SIC codes. Sales or sales range estimates are included for each company entry (public and private).
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223. C18 2013, 2 volumes [previous editions in Innis Bookstacks](Subscription Cancelled)

open accessCanadian Trade Index (current)
A buyers guide to the products of over 30,000 industrial companies in Canada.
Location of Print: MILLS Bookstacks HF 3223 .C212 [1931-2008]

Directory of Retail Chains in Canada
Entries typically include contact details, sales, total locations in Canada & provinces,  average sales per square foot per year, average size of store, and more.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference  HF 5468 .D57 2010

Best Bet!open accessFP500: Canada's Largest Corporations
Ranks the  top private & public companies in Canada based on revenue/assets. Also identifies leading companies in several industries including finance, insurance, multimedia, telecommunications and more. 
Location of Print: INNIS Reserve IPC 11 Financial Post Magazine, June 2017  

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyHoovers
Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company factsheet, overview, history, people, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, competitors and financials. 

McMaster Users OnlyMergent Online
Includes corporate and financial information on approximately 4,000 publicly traded Canadian companies. Search by company name, ticker symbol, or American industry codes (SIC or NAICS).

Scott's Directories, 7 vols.
Directory of Canadian companies (primarily manufacturing) by name, location and Canadian NAICS code. Sales estimates are often provided for companies.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223 .S?? 2014 [call number varies by volume] (previous editions in INNIS and MILLS Bookstacks)

open accessTop 1000 Biggest Canadian Companies
NOTE: Most recent rankings are not freely available on website; consult hard-copy on INNIS Reserve, IPC 10. 
Rankings of Canada's biggest corporations based on revenue/profits/assets. Rankings by industry are also provided. Lists include public and private companies.
Location of Print: INNIS Reserve IPC 10 Report on Business, July 2017 (NOTE: Issue not received yet)


Industry Classification Codes

Directories and databases often arrange company information by industry classification codes (hierarchical numbers assigned to companies engaged in the same activity). Two classification codes are currently in use:  the older Standard Industrial Classification system (SIC) and the newer North American Industry Classification system (NAICS). In most cases, you will have to identify both codes for an industry.

Best Bet!Standard Industrial Classification Manual (Dun & Bradstreet)
Location: INNIS Reference HF 1044 .C2D85 1986
NOTE: This SIC code is not available online. If you find a SIC code online, you should check to make sure that the same SIC code exists in the print manual at Innis. Your 4 digit SIC code, formal industry name and description should come from this manual.

Best Bet!open accessNAICS (North American Industry Classification System) Canada 2017 Version 2.0 (Statistics Canada) 
NAICS is updated every 5 years. The most recent edition is 2017, Version 2.0 
NOTE:  As of August 2017, there is still no search function for the 2017 HTML format. Browse the classification structure to find a relevant industry code. Your 6 digit NAICS code, formal industry name and description can come from the online version (HTML or PDF) of the North American Industry Classification System.
Location of Printed PDF: INNIS Reference


Company Info & Financials

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Complete
On the Advanced Search screen of the Business Searching Interface, click on the Company Profiles option on the right and search by company name. Reports can include a company overview, top competitors and a SWOT analysis.

McMaster Users OnlyCanadian Business Database (current year only)
An online directory listing over 1.9 million public and private Canadian businesses. A sales estimate or range is typically included in company profiles. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 3 people at one time can use this database. If you are unable to access the database, please try again later.

open accessCanadian Company Capabilities
Select Go to Detailed Search to find companies by name, employee size, sales, NAICS code, exporting markets and more. Type in your company name and click on the Search button. If your company is listed, click on the company name to view its profile

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyDBRS 
Includes rating reports for selected Canadian companies. Strengths and challenges are often included in these reports. Search by company name and look for this document type in the results.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyFactiva
Contains reports on companies around the world. Click on the Companies/Markets link/tab and then click on the Company option. Search by company name or ticker symbol. Ownership type (i.e., Listed [public] or Unlisted [private] is noted. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later.

McMaster Users OnlyHoovers
Includes reports on companies worldwide. Profiles typically include a company factsheet, overview, history, people, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, competitors and financials. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyLexisNexis Academic
Contains reports on companies worldwide. At the initial search screen, select Search by Subject or Topic (top right, above Enter Search Terms box), go to the Companies menu > select Dossier (Company, Executive, & Industry) and type in a company name. Profiles include a snaphsot of the company (e.g., business description, company hierarchy, stock quotes & charts, top executives), news, financials, legal info and more.

McMaster Users OnlyMergent Online
Online access to annual reports and financials of publicly traded companies worldwide. To retrieve Canadian companies, search by company name, ticker symbol or select Canada from the drop-down Country menu.

McMaster Users OnlyPassport 
Includes worldwide company profiles which typically include strategic direction, key facts, company background, production and competitive positioning. Search or browse by company name.

Best Bet!open accessSEDAR
Official filings for publicly traded Canadian companies. Contains company annual reports dating back to 1997. Search by company name or industry group.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyThomson ONE 
Thomson ONE contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms. Reports can provide insight into company strategy, industry trends, company valuation, competitive analysis and market share. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 5 people at one time can use this database. If unable to connect, please try again later.


Market Share

NOTES: No strictly Canadian compendium of market share information exists. You often have to gather the information yourself - by searching newspaper, magazine and journal databases, contacting the company, or calculating a rough estimate of market share using sales from Canadian company directories (e.g., Calculating Market Share Using Canadian Business Database).

You need to include the top three competitors in your industry as defined by your SIC or NAICS code. Your company may or may not belong on this list. One column should indicate the names of the companies in order of largest to smallest market share. The second column should indicate the market share percentage (based on the industry size) that is associated with each company. The third column needs to show the value of the market shares translated into sales or revenue of the industry. To be clear, you are calculating this based on the industry size amount (industry size times market share)(e.g., C$10 million x 20% = C$2 million) not on your company’s overall revenue.

McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Complete
Find Canadian industry reports by clicking on Industry Profiles on the Advanced Search screen of the Business Searching Interface. The industry profiles often include a section on market share.

open accessFP500: Canada's Largest Corporations
Ranks the  top private & public companies in Canada based on revenue/assets. Also identifies leading companies in several industries including finance, insurance, multimedia, telecommunications and more. 
Location: INNIS Reserve IPC 11 Financial Post Magazine, Summer 2017 (NOTE: Issue not received yet)

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Contains 425 Canadian industry reports, most at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level. Check the Major Companies section/tab of a report for market share information.

Market Share Reporter
Contains worldwide market share data on companies, products and services. Make sure Canada appears in your table title.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5410 .M35 2016 & 2017 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyPassport
Includes thousands of industry reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Search for the keyword Canada to retrieve a list of reports. Category Briefing reports usually contain a section labelled Category Data which can include company/market share information.

McMaster Users OnlyThomson ONE
Thomson ONE contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries. Reports can provide competitive analysis and market share. Use the Screening & Analysis (Research) module  NOTE: Access is limited. Only people at one time can use this database. If unable to connect, please try again later.

open accessTop 1000 Biggest Canadian Companies  
NOTE: Most recent rankings are not freely available on website; consult hard-copy on INNIS Reserve, IPC 10. 
Rankings of Canada's biggest corporations based on revenue/profits/assets. Rankings by industry are also provided. Lists include public and/or private companies.
Location of Print: INNIS Reserve IPC 10 Report on Business, July 2017 (NOTE: Issue not received yet)


Newspaper, Magazine and Journal Databases

McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Premium Collection (formerly ProQuest Business Collection), varies by database/publication
Consists of 6 business databases that include thousands of full-text scholarly journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, newspapers, trade publications, industry reports and books.

McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Complete
Full-text articles for more than 8,000 scholarly business journals, magazines and trade publications.

McMaster Users OnlyCBCA Reference & Current Events, 1982 to the present
Key articles from 500 Canadian business periodicals, magazines and newspapers

McMaster Users OnlyCPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly), 1988 to the present
Indexes articles from more than 1,500 magazines, journals and newspapers with significant Canadian content. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyFactiva, dates vary by publication
Contains approx. 2,000 full-text newspapers from 200 countries in 26 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try LexisNexis and CBCA.

McMaster Users OnlyLexisNexis Academic, dates vary by publication
Includes over 300 full-text newspapers from around the world. At the initial search screen,click on Search by Subject or Topic (top right, above Enter Search Terms box) go to the News menu > select All News. The phrase All News Search should now appear near the search box on the main page.Type your search terms in the box and/or use the Advanced Options to limit your search by date, source, segment/field, etc.


Industry Sources

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Monitor International Reports
View industry surveys (e.g.,Commercial Banking, Food & Drink, Insurance, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications, etc.), forecasts and risk ratings for Canada. Some of the reports include an industry SWOT analysis. 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyBusiness Source Complete
Find Canadian industry reports by clicking on Industry Profiles on the Advanced Search screen of the Business Searching Interface. Click on the Country tab and select Canada to view the reports specific to Canada. Also, review SWOT analyses of companies in your industry and see whether the opportunities and threats discussed are useful for the environmental scan of your industry.

Best Bet!open accessCanadian Industry Statistics (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)

Best Bet!open accessCANSIM (updated daily) (Statistics Canada)
Contains industry related statistics which may provide industry size/sales over time.

To browse for statistics/tables in CANSIM:
• Browse by subject or survey on the introductory search screen
• Select your industry type (e.g., Manufacturing)
• Click on an industry from the listing displayed (e.g., Manufacturing industries)
• Review the tables listed and select the ones that fit your industry
• Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed

To search for statistics/tables in CANSIM:
• Search for word(s) that best describe your industry or type in a CANSIM table number like the ones noted below.
• Review the tables retrieved and select the ones that fit your industry
• Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed.

Some popular CANSIM tables :

080-0009 Survey of large retailers, monthly (dollars), 1997 to current
080-0020 Retail trade, sales by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), monthly (dollars), Jan 1991 to current
080-0022 Retail commodity survey, based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (dollars),  2004 to current
304-0014 Manufacturers' sales, inventories, orders and inventory to sales ratios, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Canada, monthly (dollars), 1992 to current
304-0015 Manufacturing sales, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and province monthly (dollars), 1992 to current
355-0006 Monthly survey of food services and drinking places, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), 1998 to current
356-0004 Telecommunications statistics, by operating and financial detail and North American Industry Classification (NAICS) annual (dollars), 2011 to current
357-0001 Television broadcasting industry, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars), 1976 to current 

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyConference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains several current Canadian industry reports. Industries covered include: retail trade, paper products, auto parts, IT & communications, wood products, tourism, food and more. Search by keywords or Browse by Topic > Industry Sector Economics. Several of the profiles include an industry SWOT analysis.

open accessThe Daily (Statistics Canada)
Search the archive to locate Statistics Canada publications and data on your industry. Take note of relevant CANSIM table numbers and publication catalogue numbers. Go to CANSIM to create customized data tables and charts for FREE. Publications noted in the Daily may also be available for FREE via Statistics Canada or the Library Catalogue.

Detailed reports on selected Canadian industries. Mouse over the Research menu and select Industry Studies to generate a list of reports.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyIBISWorld
Contains over 1000 U.S., 425 Canadian and over 70 global industry reports, most at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level. 

Industry or Trade Associations

  • open accessAssociations (ipl2, Internet Public Library)
    Find associations from around the world by field/subject area.
  • Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyAssociations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre
    Use this directory to identify Canadian associations relevant to your industry. Association web sites can provide free content such as magazines, newsletters, statistics & industry trends. Especially useful for current legal and regulatory issues affecting an industry.
    Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88 2017
  • open accessDirectory of Business and Trade Associations/Organizations (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
    Search for Canadian associations by name, province, sector and other criteria.

Best Bet!open accessInformation by Industrial Category (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)

McMaster Users OnlyMarketResearch.com Academic
Contains hundreds of market research reports, some covering Canada.

McMaster Users OnlyMergent Industry Reports via Factiva
Some reports cover Canadian industries. The reports typically include a description of the current market environment, an industry profile, an analytical look at market trends, key points and references. Limit results to North America (using the Regions filter) and/or use the Modify Search button to add your own keyword(s). 

To find Mergent Industry Reports within Factiva:  

  • search and select Mergent Industry Reports from the Source menu
  • in the search box, type in the keyword(s) of your industry with the phrase "north america"
  • click Search
  • browse the results for reports with North America in the title. Canadian content should be included in the body of the report
  • click here to view screenshots of a sample search for a Mergent Industry Report

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyPassport
Includes thousands of market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Search for the keyword Canada to retrieve a list of market reports and a consumer lifestyle report for Canada.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (subscription cancelled in December 2010)
Contains profiles for over 50 industries in the U.S. Content may still be applicable to the Canadian environment.
Location: MILLS Periodicals (3rd floor) HG 4915.S65 

open accessStatistics and Market Information (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)">

open accessStatistics Canada Free Internet Publications
Full text access to a huge selection of Statistics Canada publications. Includes several industry specific publications (e.g., Dairy Review, Retail Trade, etc.). Use the Subject and Geography options in the left navigation to refine your search.

Technology News

  • open accessCNET: Includes reviews, news, and prices on technology products. 
  • open accessDigital Trends: Contains technology news and products & apps reviews. Site categories include Computing, Mobile, Lifestyle and Social.
  • open accessEngadget: Magazine with daily coverage of everything new in gadgets and consumer electronics.
  • open accessTechCrunch: Profiles startups, reviews new Internet products, and provides tech news.
  • open accessThe Verge: Online news site that covers the intersection of technology, science, art and culture. Includes news, reviews, and forums on the mobile, computer and home entertainment industries.

McMaster Users OnlyThomson ONE
Thomson ONE contains full-text research reports on global companies and industries written by analysts at leading investment banks, brokers and independent research firms. Reports can include forecasts, opinions and trends from industry experts. 

open accessWinspear Canadian Industry Database (University of Alberta Libraries)
Identifies publications and websites that cover Canadian industry information.


Demographic & Social Information

open accessCanadian Social Trends (Statistics Canada)
Publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians.  Browse issues by by year or by subject.
Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS11-C008 (1986 to 2012)
NOTE: Statistics Canada has discontinued this publication. 

open accessCensus Canada 2016 - data release schedule  
Search or browse for Canadian Census data (e.g., population, age, sex, dwelling counts & types) for various levels of geography (national, provincial, city/place, postal code, etc.)

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyConsumer Lifestyles in Canada via Passport
Click the Consumers link across the top of the screen and select Lifestyles from the menu. Go the Analysis Finder section on the Lifestyles screen and from the drop-down menus select Content + Consumer Lifestyles + Canada, then click Go to retrieve the Canadian lifestyles report. 

FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
Location: INNIS Reference HC 111.S96 2012 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks)
NOTE: This title has ceased publication.

open accessPew Research: Social & Demographic Trends (primarily U.S. content)
Site provides results from studies of American behaviours and attitudes. Subjects covered include family, education, health, personal finance, work, and leisure. Search for keyword(s) or browse using the meus across the topc of the page (i.e.,  Reports, Topics, Datasets, etc.) 

open accessPopulation and Demography Summary Tables (Statistics Canada)
Free (but basic) information from the census of population.

open accessTrend Briefings (trendwatching.com), 2002 to current
Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.


Economic and Political Info

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyConference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains Canadian, provincial and metropolitan data and analysis. Reports include economic indicators such as employment, income, industry outlook, housing starts, migration and more.

McMaster Users OnlyEIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Provides access to current economic data and commentary on countries around the world. Use the Advanced Search to find content on Canada or use the drop-down country menu and select Canada.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyEIU ViewsWire
Select Canada from the drop-down country/region menu and then select Business, Economy and/or Finance in the Topics menu. 


Other Business Statistics

Canadian Communications (Marketing) Pocket Book
Covers many aspects of everyday life in Canada, from population to consumption trends in retail, advertising and media statistics.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5415.12.C35C336 (2003, 2004 & 2006/7)

Best Bet!open accessInnovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (formerly Industry Canada)
Includes company and industry statistics, reports, etc.

McMaster Users OnlyMarket Research Handbook (Statistics Canada)
Includes labour force, income, consumer expenditures, housing, etc.
Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS 63 -C224
NOTE: Statistics Canada has discontinued this publication. The 2008 copy is the last edition.

Best Bet!open accessStatistics Canada
View the Summary Tables to see free (but basic) data.
Check the List of Free Internet Publications
Search The Daily archive for articles that identify relevant Statistics Canada publications and data sets.
Search CANSIM (updated daily) for statistics over time.
NOTE: The Library has negotiated arrangements with Statistics Canada for access to many of their priced publications. Speak to a staff member at a Service Desk before agreeing to purchase any content from their web site.

open accessZanran
A numerical data search engine. Find data and statistics in graphs, charts and tables. Worldwide coverage.


Legal / Regulatory Information

open accessCanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
Centralizes links for federal and provincial legislation. 

open accessConsolidated Acts and Regulations of Canada (Justice Laws)
Contains federal acts and regulations for Canada.

Best Bet!McMaster Users OnlyEIU ViewsWire
Select Canada from the drop-down Country/Region menu. Click on Regulations from the Topic menu.

open accessHouse of Commons Debates (Hansard)
Search for keywords or browse a list of topics (e.g., names of acts) to find legal and regulatory information/discussion in the federal Parliament pertinent to your industry.

Best Bet!open accessIndustry Sources
Visit the sites and databases noted in the industry section of this guide for legal and regulatory information. Also check with your trade association website or contact.

Best Bet!open accessInformation by Industry Sector (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada)
If your industry is covered, explore the links that are related to legislation such as regulations and standards.

McMaster Users OnlyNewspaper, Magazine and Journal Databases
Search the article databases listed in this section of the guide. Type in your industry terms (e.g., retail) along with the following search words (regulatory or regulations or regulation or law or laws or legislation or act or acts or statute or statutes or bill or bills) to find articles relevant to this environment.

open accessPrimary Sources of Law - Canadian Legislation (Legal Research Tutorial - University of Toronto - Bora Laskin Law Library)
Lists the different jurisdictions and provides links to the federal/provincial legislative bodies.


Advertising

Big Book Source Guide (Marketing magazine)
Directory for marketing, advertising, printing, communications and production services in Canada. 
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5415.12 .C35B54 2010

open accessCARDonline
A comprehensive guide to advertising sources in Canada. Search by topical and/or geographical keywords. Entries typically include source name, media category, year established, subscription cost, brief profile/description. NOTE: The Library does not subscribe to this database. Advertising rates and other information are only available to subscribers. 
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HF 5801 .C35 2010 (old print issue includes rates for selected media)

McMaster Users OnlyMarketing Facts 2011 & 2013 editions  (Canadian Marketing Association)
A compendium of marketing related statistics and information from over 38 reputable and well-known sources including Environics Analytics, Leger and NADbank.
Location of Print: HF 5415 .C2M36 2008

open accessMedia Digest 2015/2016 & 2016/17
Provides general information on the Canadian media market. Includes readership, listenership and viewership figures.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808.C2C3 2014/2015 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)

Ethnic Media and Markets
Provides advertising rates for radio, television and print media targeted at various ethnocultural populations in Canada.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808.C2E86 2006

The National List of Advertisers
Canadian focus, contains information on national advertisers, government contacts, brand names, advertising agencies, etc.
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5808 .C2 N3 2009 

Last Reviewed: October 3, 2017