Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
A comprehensive atlas of the ancient world.
Brill’s New Pauly
An English translation of Der Neue Pauly. Enzyklopädie der Antike. The series is divided into Antiquity, which covers over 2000 years of ancient history, and Classical Tradition, which looks at the influence of antiquity and the history of classical scholarship. This reference source is also available online here.
Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology
This 3 volume set covers all of the significant individuals of the ancient world, both real and mythical. Also available online here.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
The definitive one volume dictionary of the classical world, it includes entries on all aspects of Greek and Roman society, including individuals, places, events and social and religious customs. Essays also provide bibliographies.
Paulys Real-Encyclopadie der Classischen Alterumswissenschaft
This German encyclopedia is considered an authoritative reference work for classics and covers over 2000 years of ancient history.
History and Archaeology
Cambridge Ancient History
This multi-volume set is a standard reference work that provides essays on all aspects of ancient history.
Chronology of the Ancient World
This reference work provides short entries for major events in ancient history, as well as number of lists such as emperors and their reigns.
Great Events from History: Ancient and Medieval Series
This work provides summaries of major events from ancient history.
Lexicon Icongraphicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
A multivolume work that centres on the iconography of the ancient world.
Literature and Language
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
This multivolume set offers excerpts of criticism for classical and medieval literature. The series also contains biographies, textual histories, bibliographies and suggestions for further readings.
The standard for ancient Greek dictionaries, providing ancient Greek terms and their English translation. This authoritative work offers over 20 000 words.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
This authoritative reference work examines classical literature, including historical and mythical individuals, authors and genres.
Oxford Latin Dictionary
This definitive Latin dictionary is composed from original sources and offers over 40 000 Latin words and their English translations.
Online Reference Works
Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities
Dictionary of Classical Antiquities