Library Information

Course code: 1A03/1AA3/1E03/1R03
Course name: Chemistry
Course date: Autumn/Winter 2009-2010

Fast Facts about McMaster Libraries

MAC ID

To use electronic resources that McMaster Librar 1A03/1AA3/1E03/1R03 Chemistry Autumn/Winter 2009-2010

Fast Facts about McMaster Libraries

MAC ID

To use electronic resources that McMaster Libraries have purchased (e.g., e-books, e-journals) you will be asked for your MAC ID username and password both in the Libraries and off-campus. More infomation about accessing resources from off-campus is available here.

Campus Libraries

  • H.G. Thode Library of Science and Engineering (biology, chemistry, geology, mathematics, physics, psychology, kinesiology, computer science, astronomy, and the various branches of engineering (chemical, electrical, environmental, etc.))
  • Mills Memorial Library (humanities and social sciences)
  • Innis (business)
  • Health Science Library (medicine, nursing and other health related areas)
     

How to Borrow Materials

To borrow materials (books, reserve items) you need your McMaster student I.D. card (books 2 weeks loan period; reserve items 2 hours)

Printing & Photocopying

To print & photocopy in the library, you need to register for a PrintSmart account with your MacID.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

If the Thode library or other campus libraries do not have a book or a journal you need, you can request the book or journal article through RACER. RACER is a computer system that searches other libraries for your request. You have to register for a RACER account. There is no cost to borrow books or request journal articles.

Internet/Wireless

All computers in the library have internet access. You can bring your own laptop to the library and can access the internet if you have a wireless card installed. There are electric outlets throughout the library.

Library Hours

Thode Library is open during the academic year:

  • Monday  â€“ Thursday  8:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
  • Friday  8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
  • Saturday 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
  • Sunday   10:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Check the Library web page for extended opening hours during exam time.

Help with Chemistry

Tutorial assistance is available via the departments with offices in the Thode Library, lower level (basement). Teaching assistants will post their hours outside their rooms.  

What the Library Can Do for You

How do I find a book or journal title?

Search the Library Catalogue from the Library home page.

  • Enter the title of the book or the title of the journal (not the title of the article) in the appropriate search box
  • Write down the Call no. for a book.
  • For journals write down the Range No.  Journals are arranged alphabetically by title and located on the second floor.
  • There will be a link in the catalogue if we have the journal or book online.

Need to get an item on Reserve?

Click the link the "Course Reserves" under "Popular Links" on the Library web page

  • Select Thode Reserve and enter the name of your course, e.g., Chemistry 1AA3 or select the instructor's name and enter it.
  • Write down the call no. and provide it to staff at the Service Desk. (That is the desk where you take books you want to borrow from the library. You need to present your student I.D.card)

What does that word mean?

To get a definition of a chemical word or phrase use the following dictionaries (and there are many more - check out the Chemistry Subject Guide)

Need to find property data for a chemical compound?

Check one of the following handbooks (a handbook is a book that usually contains property data, brief descriptions of a chemical, the CAS [Chemical Abstracts Service] Registry number that uniquely identifies a chemical and is very useful for searching other handbooks or databases):

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Thode Ref. QD 65 .H23
  • Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds Thode Ref. QD 148 .D53 1992
  • Dictionary of Organic Compounds  Thode Ref. QD 246 .D5 1996
  • Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds  Thode Ref. QD 411 .D53 1995
  • Lange's Handbook of Chemistry  Thode Ref. QD 65 .L36 1999
  • Knovel Critical Tables (search the Library catalogue under Title)
  • NIST Chemistry WebBook

For property information not found in any handbooks, search SciFinder.

How do I find out more about a topic?

Try an encyclopedia:

How do I find journal articles on a topic?

Try a chemistry database:

  • SciFinder Web - this is the major English language database that allows you to search for articles on chemistry and chemistry related topics. It covers articles back to 1907 and some even earlier. You can get the full-text article online if the library has a subscription to the journal.Try this online tutorial for Scifinder Web.
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) - it covers only journal articles in the various science fields, and the library has this database available back to 1976

Both databases are available online and you can access them through the library catalgoue or the chemistry subject guide.

How do I cite a book or journal article?

Whenever you use information that is not your own, you have to give the source where you found it. This is referred to as citation or reference (a bibliography is a list of citations in alphabetical order by author). The basic elements of a citation include:
For a book: Author(s)
spacerTitle of book
spacerEdition (if given)
spacerPlace of publication, publisher, year of publication

For an article: Author(s)
spacerTitle of article
spacerName of journal, year, volume number, pages

Check out these sites for detailed examples of how to cite a book, journal article, web site:

Need information but not in the library?

Get in touch with us via phone, email or chat.