Chemistry
- Reference
- Articles/Databases
- Websites
- Spectra and Spectral Data
- Material Safety Data
- Crystallographic Data
- Patents
- Property Info.
- Citation and Style Guides
- Synthesis & Reactions
- Journal Abbreviations/Acronyms
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
HANDBOOKS
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards: An Indexed Guide to Published Data
THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 55.3 .H3B73 2007
CRC Handbook of Physics and Chemistry
CRC Handbook of Thermophysical and Thermochemical Data
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QC 173.397 .L53 1994
Dictionary of Alkaloids
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 421.D53 1989
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 148.D53 1992
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 246 .D5 1982
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 411 .D53 1984
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards: An Indexed Guide to Published Data
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 65.L36
Wolfram Alpha : Computational Knowledge Engine
Computes a query and provides factual results (e.g., chemical information, such as property, spectra data) which are derived from its own collection of sources.
ENCYCLOPAEDIAS
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Also available in Print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) TP 9 .E685
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry - 2003 ed.
Also Available in Print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) TP 9 .U57 1985
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 474 .C65 2004
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry III
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 411 .C652 2007
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 71.5 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 71.5 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 415 .E25E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 39.3 .E46 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 77 .E53 2009
DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 5 .B32 1980
Dictionary of Names and Synonyms
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 71.5 .E53 2005
EuroTermBank
EU's searchable terminology databank
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 5 .C5 2001
Interactive Terminology for Europe (IATE)
Multilingual translation database for terminology used in the EU
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology - the Gold Book
Langenscheidt Routledge German Dictionary of Chemistry and Chemical Technology
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 5 .L26 1997
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry
Also available in Print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 5 .M357 2003
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Primary Databases / IndexesSciFinder Web Analytical WebBase Beilstein handbook of organic chemistry, fourth edition.
Cambridge Crystallographic Structural Database (Web CSD) / Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction. The following search functionality is available in WebCSD: full text and numeric searching, reduced cell searching, 2D substructure searching, and 2D structure similarity searching. Gmelin handbook of inorganic and organometallic chemistry
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD Web) / FIZ Karlsruhe Numeric database containing records of inorganic crystal structures with atomic coordinate, published since 1915. For organic or organometallic structures, see the Cambridge Crystallographic Structure Database. ChemSpider Common Chemistry eMolecules
|
|
||
Secondary chemistry databasesBIOSIS BRENDA : The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System / Dept. of Bioinformatics, TU Braunschweig Compendex (1969 to present) INSPEC (1969 to present); Pubmed / Medline (1950s to present) Science Citation Index Expanded |
|||
Websites
DGRweb / American Chemical Society
"DGRweb ...., the searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR), is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical research and researchers at universities in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico."
Macs in Chemistry: Mobile Science / Chris Swain, Cambridge MedChem Consulting
List of "scientific iPhone (and iPad) applications on the iTunes AppStore..."
Spectra and Spectral Data
BMRB : BioMagResBank
"A repository for data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides and nuclei acids."
Diatomic Spectral Database / National Institute of Standards and Technology
Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data / National Institute of Standards and Technology
PDF version
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Spectra for organic compounds (and some small inorganic compounds)
NMRShiftDB
"NMRShiftDB is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. ... [I]t features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users. The NMRShiftDB software is open source, the data is published under an open content license..."
Raman Spectroscopic Library / University College London, Dept. of Chemistry
"...Raman spectra of sixty-four common pigments, both natural and synthetic, known to have been in use before ~1850 AD... Fifty-six pigments have yielded high quality spectra and these have been arranged here, by colour, into a spectroscopic library for reference purposes."
Sadtler Standard infrared prism spectra
There are 5 indexes (cumulative up to 1980 and supplements from 1981):
Spec-Finder,
Alphabetical,
Chemical Class,
Molecular Formula and
Numerical, all located at the end of the spectra collection.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QC 457 .S3
Sigma-Aldrich
This is a chemical products catalogue which contains spectra for some compounds and references to spectra for most compounds.
Spectra and Spectral Data: A select guide to print reference sources held at the Thode Library.
Spectra and Spectral Data / Ben Wagner, University of Buffalo
Listing primarily of print resources; check the McMaster Library catalogue for holdings.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
Provides spectra for 32,000 organic compounds
SciFinder Web
Includes spectra for some compounds
Material Safety Data
Material Safety Data Sheets
- CCInfoWeb (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety )
- University of Vermont SIRI MSDS Collection
- MSDS Search / Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
- Where to Find MSDS on the Internet
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Chemicals
THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 55.3 .H3 S3z
Sigma Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data
THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 55.3 .H3 S54 1988
Crystallographic Data
American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
"This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals."
Bilbao Crystallographic Server
Cambridge Crystallographic Structural Database (Web CSD) / Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
Contains published crystallographic data on organic, organometallic, and metal complex structures whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction. The following search functionality is available in WebCSD: full text and numeric searching, reduced cell searching, 2D substructure searching, and 2D structure similarity searching.
Crystallography Open Database
Searchable repository of open data in crystallography
Crystallography online / IUCr
List of crystallographic databases
Database of Zeolite Structures
"This database provides structural information on all of the Zeolite Framework Types
that have been approved by the Structure Commission of the International Zeolite Association (IZA-SC)."
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD Web) / FIZ Karlsruhe
Numeric database containing records of inorganic crystal structures with atomic coordinates; published since 1915. For organic or organometallic structures see the Cambridge Crystallographic Structure Database (Web CSD).
International Tables for Crystallography
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 908 .I56
Powder Diffraction File (1960-1988)
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QC 482 .D5P642 (inorganic – microfiche)
QC 482 .D5P643 (organic – microfiche)
Patents
European Patent Office
Espacenet is the freely available database to patent information
Free Patents Online
Chemical structures can be searched through SureChem.
Patent Lens
Searchable US, European, Australian patents back to 1976. Offer biological sequence searching and visual presentation of patent family.
Patent Retriever
Free patent PDF download of US, European and PCT patent applications." Searching is by patent number only.
PatentScope / WIPO
This facility allows you to search 1,374,585 international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents to the International Bureau
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) database
What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents
What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents: 2006 Supplement
Property Info.
Aldrich: Advancing Science
THODE Reference (Lower Level) TP 202 .A415
A catalogue of fine chemicals including property information and literature references to where property and other information were obtained.
Beilstein handbook of organic chemistry , fourth edition.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 251 .B42
General formula index for the basic series and supplementary series I, II, III and IV : covering the literature through 1959
NOTE: Resource is mostly in German – use this website for German/English chemistry terms
ChemBioFinder
Searchable database for property information with links to additional resources, some of them are free.
Chemical Database / University of Akron, Dept. of Chemistry
"This database will allow the user to retrieve information for any of 30,209 hazardous chemicals or 'generic' entries based on a keyword search. Potential keywords include names, formula and registry numbers (CAS, DOT, RTECS, EINECS, PubChem, Beilstein and Merck). Formula are represented in Hill format for searching and a more descriptive format for viewing."
ChemIDplus
Provided through the National Library of Medicine, this database can be searched by CAS or chemical name in the basic search interface; chemical structure and substructure, property and toxicity searching is available on the advanced search page.
Chemical and Physical Properties : Index of Property Names / Duke University Libraries
Lists print resources that contain chemical and physical properites. The site can be browsed by property name. Check McMaster's Library Catalogue for holdings of titles.
ChemSpider (free website)
Search chemicals and their structures and discover their properties and spectral data
CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics.
Table of values for the thermodynamic properties of key chemical substances
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Also available in Print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 65.H23
Tables relocated or removed from the 71st to 87th editions of the CRC Handbook
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 148 .D53 1992
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 246 .D5 1996
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 411. D53 1995
Dortmund Data Bank
This database can be searched for thermodynamic and thermophysical data. The actual data has to be requested by e-mail.
Finding Physical and Chemical Properties / Vanderbilt University, Science and Engineering Library
List of physical and chemical properties contained in print reference resources or available online. Check McMaster's Library Catalogue for holdings of titles.
Finding Physical Properties of Chemicals : A Practical Guide for Scientists, Engineers and Librarians / A. Ben Wagner, Science and Engineering Library, State University of New York at Buffalo
Critically reviewed internet resources for physical property information
Gmelin handbook of inorganic and organometallic chemistry , index. Formula index.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 151 .G56
NOTE: Resource is mainly in German
Hazardous Chemical Database / National Library of Medicine
Some 5,000 peer-reviewed toxicology data can be searched by chemical name, synonym and CAS registry number
Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data / Arizona State University Libraries
This site provides information to various properties published in handbooks or online. The site can be browsed by specific property. Check McMaster's Library Catalogue for holdings of print titles.
International Chemical Safety Cards / National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
A browsable site of over 1,600 (as of July 2009) chemicals.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database
This database, based on the IUPAC Solubility Data Series, contains "mutual solubilities and liquid-liquid equilibria of binary, ternary and quaternary systems". For print volumes see call number QD 543 .S6629.
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
Publish critically evalutated chemical and physical property data
Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data. Monographs and Supplements
These monographs, available as PDF, contain critically evaluated chemical and physical property data.
Landolt- Börnstein: Numerical data and functional relationships in science and technology
THODE Reference (Lower Level) Q 199 .L25A
Landolt-Börnstein Substance/Property Index
NOTE: McMaster does not subscribe to the online version.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 65 .L36
Link to Internet Sources for Physical Property Information
This site, origiinally created by Gary Wiggins of Indiana University, includes resources on the Periodic Table, the elements, biochemical data, physical property, scientific constansts, property and conversion calculators.
Materials Properties Locator Database / University of Buffalo Libraries
This is a searchable database for a variety of properties of materials that can be found in reference books. Check McMaster's catalogue for holdings of titles.
MatWeb: Material Property Data
"Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials." Data sheets are supplied by manufacturers and distributors.
NCBI Chemical and Molecular Databases
Organic Compound Database / Harold M. Bell, Virginia Tech
Contains 2,483 compounds which can be searched by various values (e.g., formula, index of refraction, mass spectral peaks, UV absorption, etc.)
Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook
Also available in Print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) TP 151 .P45 1997 (7th ed.)
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online (Phase Diagrams for Ceramists)
Contains more than 21,000 diagrams for non-organic systems, including those published in all 21 hard-copy volumes produced as part of the ACerS-NIST Phase Equilibria Diagrams Program (formerly titled Phase Diagrams for Ceramists). The database additionally contains over 1,200 new phase diagrams labeled as “Volume 15” that are only available in electronic format.
Physical Properties Source Index (PPSI)
This is an index to "databases, handbooks, and websites (data, definition, measurement) for physico-chemical and other material properties. "
PhysProp Database Demo
This online database retrieves basic data from the PhysProp database of 25,000 compounds. Individual compounds can be searched by the CAS Registry number only. No sub-structure searching is available in this demo version.
Solv-DB / National Center for Manufacturing Sciences
This database contains chemical and physical data on commercially available solvent and can be searched by solvent name, chemical formula, property range, etc.
ThermoDex : An Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources
ThermoDex contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. For print resources, consult McMaster's Library Catalogue for holdings of titles to obtain the data.
Wolfram Alpha : Computational Knowledge Engine
Citation and Style Guides
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information / Anne M. Coghill . 3rd ed.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 8.5 .A25 2006
A Quick Guide to Citing Using the ACS Style Guide, 3rd edition / Pennsylvania State University
Craft of Scientific Writing / Michael Ally; 3rd
THODE Bookstacks (Lower Level) T 11 .A37 1996
Gives advice on writing well and provides examples from various disciplines in science and engineering
CSE (CBE) Citation Guide / Ohio State University Libraries
Based on Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed, 2006.
Also available in print - THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 11 .S386 2006
Elements of Style / William Strunk and E.B. White
Also available in print - THODE Bookstacks (Lower Level) PE 1408 .S772
Gives advice on composition and correct usage of grammar
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper / Robert A Day;
THODE Reference (Lower Level) T 11. D33 2006
On Writing Well: the Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction / William Zinsser
THODE Reference (Lower Level) PE 1429 .Z5 2006
Synthesis & Reactions
Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry , fourth edition.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 251 .B42
NOTE: Resource is mostly in German – use this website for German/English chemistry terms
Chemical Synthesis Database
"ChemSynthesis is a freely accessible database of chemicals. This website contains substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density. There are currently more than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database."
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 77 .E53 2009
Fiesers' Reagents for Organic Synthesis
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 262 .F5
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 77 .H37 1999
Inorganic Syntheses
THODE Periodicals (2nd floor) QD 151 .A1 T5
Gmelin handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, index. Formula index.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 151 .G56
NOTE: Resource is mainly in German
Methoden der Organischen Chemie (Houben-Weyl). 4th ed.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 258.M59 1952
For guide on using Methoden click here.
Name Reactions: a Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanism / Jie Jack Li; 2 nd ed.
THODE Reference (Lower Level) QD 291 .L5 2003
SciFinder Web
CASREACT file includes reactions and the REGISTRY file includes substance data.
Journal Abbreviations/Acronyms
Abbreviations, Acronyms, Trivial and Trade Names / ICBP, ETH Zürich
All That JAS : Journal Abbreviation Sources
Beilstein (1910) / Gmelin (1926) Journal Abbreviations / Caltech Library Services
CAplus Core Journal Coverage List
An alphabetical list of some 1,500 full- and abbreviated journal titles indexed in CAS.
Journal Abbreviation Resources on the Web / University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
A collection of links to a variety of abbreviation resources.
Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations / Kevin Lindstrom, University of British Columbia
An alphabetical listing of journal abbreviations and their corresponding full titles.

