Engineering - Chemical

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

HANDBOOKS

Access Engineering

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Also available in print: Thode Ref. QD 65.H23

Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations

Perry’s Chemical Engineer’s Handbook
Also available in print: Thode Ref. TP 151 .P45 2008

Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry 10th ed.
Thode Ref. TP 145 .R54

____________________________________________________________________________________

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design
Thode Ref. TP 9 .E66

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Merck Index:  An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs and Biologicals

Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
 

____________________________________________________________________________________

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Chemistry
Also available in print: Thode Ref. QD 5 .D4985 2004

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Thode Ref. QD 5 .C5

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
(1969 to present) Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.

SciFinder Scholar
(1907 to present; includes Medline from 1950 to present); Major bibliographic database for all aspects of chemistry; also covers chemical engineering, biochemistry and related sciences

Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
(1976 to present); Covers all sciences and indexes primarily journal literature (no patents, conference proceedings or book chapters are indexed); unique feature is the ability to search for citation of publications by an author.

CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
(1966 to present) Contains specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.

INSPEC (Engineering Village 2)
Primarily a physics/astronomy, electrical engineering database; good coverage of inorganic chemistry and materials science

Selected Journals

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

WWW Virtual Library: Chemical Engineering
http://www.che.ufl.edu/WWW-CHE

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

American Chemical Society
http://portal.acs.org/portal/acs/corg/content

“The American Chemical Society is a congressionally chartered independent membership organization which represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry.”

American Institute of Chemical Engineers
http://www.aiche.org/

“AIChE is the worlds leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 40,000 members from 93 countries.”

Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering
http://www.cheminst.ca/index.cfm/ci_id/1130/la_id/1.htm

“The Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering (CSChE) is the national technical association representing the field of chemical engineering and the interests of chemical engineers in industry, academia and government.”

Royal Society of Chemistry
http://www.rsc.org/

“The Royal Society of Chemistry is the largest organization in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences.”

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

National Technical Information Service
http://www.ntis.gov/

The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.