Career & Job Resources

Your Subject Librarian

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.
Some basic subject headings for career and job related books include:
Don't forget to check the
library catalogue
for books on your company & industry too!

 

 

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Best Bet! Business Source Complete, 1886 to the present, but varies by title
Articles from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals.

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index), 1980 to the present
Articles from 400 Canadian newspapers, magazines and journals.

Best Bet! Factiva, coverage varies by title
Articles from approx. 1,000 newspapers from 87 countries in 22 languages.

LexisNexis Academic, coverage varies by title
Articles from over 300 national and local newspapers worldwide.

 

Company Directories

Identify potential employers within a particular industry using company directories. Basic contact details (address, sales estimate, key personnel, etc.) are typically provided for each company.

Best Bet! Canadian Business Database
Our most comprehensive online directory of companies across Canada. Includes brief profiles of 1.5 million Canadian companies [including privates]. Search by company name, by industry (SIC), by geography, by sales, by credit rating and more.

Canadian Key Business Directory
Brief information on approximately 20,000 of Canada's leading businesses. Search by company name, geography or industry grouping (SIC).
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223 .C18

Guide to Canadian Manufacturers, 3 volumes
A listing of 50,000 manufacturers in Central, Western and Eastern Canada. Search by company name or by industry (SIC).
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223 .G85

Scott's Directories (Atlantic Industrial; Ontario Business [Metro Toronto; Toronto Boundary, Southwestern Ontario]; Ontario Manufacturers; Quebec Industrial; Western Industrial)
Series of directories listing Canadian manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors and business service providers. Search by company name or by industry code (NAICS).
Location: INNIS Reference HF 3223.S354 to HF 3223.S357

LexisNexis Academic
The Business module includes worldwide company profiles from a variety of sources including: Hoover's Company Records, Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions Plus, Worldscope and more.

 

Career Resources

Use career services and sources for help with employment related topics.

Center for Business Career Development
Location: McMaster DeGroote School of Business, Room 112

Career Services
http://careers.mcmaster.ca
Location: McMaster University, Gilmour Hall, Room 110

Career Matters - Independent Learning Centre (TVOntario)
http://www.ilc.org/cfmx/CM/

Best Bet! Job Futures: Canada's National Career and Education Planning Tool (Service Canada)
http://jobfutures.ca/en/home.shtml

Manpower Employment Outlook Survey
http://www.ca.manpower.com/cacom/contentSingle.jsp?articleid=282

Occupational Outlook Handbook (United States Department of Labor)
http://www.bls.gov/oco/home.htm

O*NET Online (U.S.)
http://online.onetcenter.org

Best Bet! The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet
http://www.rileyguide.com/

Subject Guide for Business Employment (UBC)
http://toby.library.ubc.ca/subjects/subjpage2.cfm?id=419

 

Salary Sources

Use a salary calculator to benchmark compensation rates for a variety of positions in different geographical locations.

Canada

Best Bet! Salary Wizard Canada (Monster.ca)
http://salary.monster.ca/

Wages and Salaries from the Labour Market Information (Service Canada)
http://www.labourmarketinformation.ca/

Ontario Regional Services: Wages / Salaries (Service Canada)
http://www1.servicecanada.gc.ca/en/on/lmi/salaries.shtml

Ontario Wage Survey 1999 (Statistics Canada & Human Resources Development Canada)
http://www.onestep.on.ca/ows/Ows99_Eng/welcome_e.html

Salary & Employment Survey of Commerce and MBA Graduates (DeGroote School of Business)
http://www.degroote.mcmaster.ca/recruit/statistics.html

 

United States

Salary Calculator (HomeFair.com)
http://www.homefair.com/Find_A_Place/Calculators/SalaryCalc/index.asp

Salary Wizard (Monster.com)
http://salary.monster.com/

Salary Wizard (Salary.com)
http://swz.salary.com/salarywizard/layoutscripts/swzl_newsearch.aspp

 

International

Payscale.com
http://payscale.com/mypayscale.aspx

Salary Expert
http://www.salaryexpert.com/

Trade Associations
Trade associations often conduct salary surveys of employees in a particular field. Try these directories to identify associations in your field of interest. Visit their web site and look for a wage or salary information link. The directories typically provide association contact details, mandate, membership and web site information.

 

 

Specialized Company & Industry Sources

Find detailed company profiles, industry reports and SWOT analyses in these specialized sources.

Best Bet! Associations Canada
Trade associations often provide information on keys trends and issues in a particular industry. Use this directory to identify Canadian associations in your field of interest.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88

Blue Book of Canadian Business
Major company profiles are provided including listings of executive biographies.
Location of Print: MILLS Bookstacks HD 2768.C24B5 (1976-1986,1989-2006)

Best Bet! Business Monitor Online
Provides detailed industry reports for countries worldwide. Industries covered include autos, chemicals, commercial banking, defence & security, food & drink, freight transport, information technology , infrastructure, insurance, oil & gas, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals, telecommunications and tourism

Best Bet! Business Source Complete
Contains industry reports and SWOT analyses for industries and companies around the world.

Canada's Top 100 Employers, current
Profiles Canadian employers with the most innovative workplaces & progressive human resource policies.
Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2809 .C35 (2001-2006)

Career Directory
Identifies Canada’s 1,000 best employers for recent college and university graduates.
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) HF 5382.5 .C2C3

DBRS.com (Dominion Bond Rating Service)
Includes Canadian industry studies, rating reports for companies and press releases.

FAITS (Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies)
Provides hundreds of industry reports and company profiles related to information technology worldwide.

FPinfomart.ca
Contains corporate and financial data for Canadian companies [some privates included].

Best Bet! GMID (Global Market Information Database)
Provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world.

International Directory of Company Histories, over 90 volumes
Profiles hundreds of significant companies from around the world. Entries include information on company history, organization, philosophy and resources for further reading.
Location: INNIS Reference HD 2721 .I57

Best Bet! Mergent Online
Contains business and financial information on publicly traded companies worldwide. Also includes industry reports covering the U.S. and Canada.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Provides current profiles of over 50 industries in the United States
Location: INNIS Reference HG 4961.S73