Business Data & Statistics

Data and Statistical resources are available from various sources such as Statistics Canada, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), OECDiLibrary, IMF etc. The links below will help you to identify data and statistical resources available for your research.

Statistics
Data
... facts or figures
... raw numbers used to calculate statistics
... proves a point using totals, sums or averages
... used with software like SAS or SPSS

Statistics:

 
CANSIM via Statistics Canada website
CANSIM @ CHASS: provides access to time series statistics on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.McMaster Only
 
Canadian Business Patterns: provides counts of business establishments by nine employment size ranges, NAICS/SIC and geography groupings. Available from 1988 to 2014. McMaster Only
 
Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business: contains 15 key financial ratios by industry groupings that allow you to compare firm’s performance to the entire industry. Available from 1997 to 2013. McMaster Only
 
Income Trends in Canada: 43 cross-classified tables on income distributions and inequality, earnings of men and women, income tax, government transfers, low income and sources of income. Available from 1976 to 2006. McMaster Only
 
Labour Force Historical Review: Monthly and annual average series are available on labour force status by demographic, education and family characteristics; trends in the labour markets of metropolitan areas; economic regions; data by industry and occupation, wages and union membership; and much more. Available from 1997 to 2010. McMaster Only
 
Canadian Census Analyser: provides access to Census Profile Data for 1981-2006 at Enumeration Area level and Census Tract level; 1991 – 2006 at Provincial and Federal Electoral District level; and the 1971 - 2006 Individual Microdata Files. McMaster Only
 
Inter-Corporate Ownership: The Inter-corporate ownership (61-517-XCB) directory is the most authoritative and comprehensive source of information available on corporate ownership, a unique directory of "who owns what" in Canada. It tracks the ownership of the largest Canadian corporations and provides up-to-date information reflecting recent corporate takeovers and other substantial changes. McMaster Only
 
 
OECDiLibrary: access OECD publications and statistical databases online and build your own tables in real time. McMaster Only
 
IMF Data - Access to Macroeconomic and Financial Data: current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. McMaster Only
 
Passport: Key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world. McMaster Only
 
Penn World Tables: The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 179 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2000. McMaster Only

Data:

 
Labour Force Survey (LFS): household survey carried out monthly. Data provide information on major labour market trends such as shifts in employment across industrial sectors, hours worked, labour force participation and unemployment rates. 1976 – 2016. McMaster Only
 
Survey of Household Spending (SHS): detailed information on household expenditures, dwelling characteristics, and ownership of household equipment such as appliances, communications and entertainment equipment, and vehicles. 1997 – 2011. McMaster Only
 
Family Food Expenditure Survey: provides estimates of food expenditures and quantities purchased by households. 1984 – 2001. McMaster Only
 
Survey of Financial Security: provides a comprehensive picture of the net worth of Canadians. Information is available on the value of all major financial and non- financial assets and on the money owing on mortgages, vehicles, credit cards, student loans and other debts. 1999, 2005 and 2012. McMaster Only
 
Survey of Labour and Income Dynamcs (SLID): household survey to provide national data on the fluctuations in income that a typical family or individual experiences over time. 1996 – 2009. McMaster Only
 
Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF): complete set of Labour Force Survey variables and detailed labour force characteristics of all persons aged 15 years and over. Also adds detailed information on 23 sources of income and income tax for the preceding calendar year. 1974 – 1998. McMaster Only
 
General Social Survey (GSS): data on family, social support and retirement for Canadians aged 45 years and over. 1985 – 2013. McMaster Only
 
Canadian Census Aggregate and Microdata Files: Census aggregate data and microdata from 1901; 1961; 1961 – 2011 reference years of the Census. McMaster Only
 
 
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): provides access to a vast archive of social science data on a variety of subject areas such as Education, Health Care and Facilities, US Censuses, Consumer Spending etc. McMaster Only
 

For more Data and Statistical Resources...

Please visit “Odesi” data portal to access, in addition to Statistics Canada datasets, data files from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). The files can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be a current student, staff or faculty at McMaster University.

Also visit the Data and Statistics Collection page to get access to a variety of Open Data, Statistics and Microdata resources from around the world.

Financial Data

Fundamental Data
 
SEC EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval) system: corporate and financial information is instantaneously available to investors, the financial community and others following the filing of such information.
 
SEDAR: provides access to most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
 
Factiva: Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Available through library’s catalogue. McMaster Only
 
Mergent Online: provides in-depth business and financial research. lncludes Company Data Direct/U.S., Company Data Direct/International, annuals/U.S. and annuals/International. Available through library’s catalogue. McMaster Only
 
Compustat Global: provides data on major companies trading on international exchanges. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Compustat North America: Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Lexis-Nexis Academic: Includes SEC Filings and many local and national directories. International information is extremely limited. McMaster Only
 
Stocks and Indices
 
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS): Web based interface providing access to recent and historical financial data from CRSP (Center for Research and Security Prices), Standard and Poor’s COMPUSTAT and other important financial and business data sources. McMaster Only
 
 
Infomart: Provides access to detailed information about Canadian public and private companies, company directors, archival financial information, and special analytical tools. Includes company snapshots; companies by industry; corporate surveys; corporate analyzer reports; investor and industry reports; and dividends. McMaster Only
 
FP Corporate Analyzer: FP Analyzer Reports provide ready access to the most popular data items. These include financial statement aggregates, current financial statistics, ratios and share price information for the top 1,500 publicly traded Canadian companies. Available as part of FPinfomart.ca. McMaster Only
 
Center for Research and Security Prices (CRSP): contains daily and monthly trading data back to 1925 on stocks trading on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges. The data includes closing price, shares outstanding, and return for the stock. Also includes index level data. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Eventus Software: performs event studies that compute abnormal returns for specific corporate actions or events using data directly from the CRSP stock database. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Institute for the Study of Security Markets database (ISSM): Tick-by-tick data covering NYSE and AMEX between 1983 and 1992, and NASDAQ between 1987 and 1992. Each year's data is divided into two files, one for trades and one for quotes. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Emerging Markets Database: data on 60 emerging markets and more than 3,000 stocks. Included are market performance, indicators, market capitalization, monthly value traded, local stock market price indexes, prices in local currency and US dollars, etc. In addition, this database includes two series of indexes, the S&P Global (S&P/IFCG) Index (which represents stock market performance without taking into account restrictions on foreign investors) and the IFC Investible (IFCI) index series (which reflects new opportunities for investment since the mid-1980s). Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Dividend Record: Detailed dividend payments on publicly traded companies. Updated daily. Available as part of Infomart McMaster Only
 
Corporate Change and Ownership
 
Thomson financial ownership databases: Mutual Fund Holdings (s12): Includes Type 1: Fund Characteristics Type 2: Stock Characteristics, Type 3: Stock Holdings, Type 4: Change in Holdings. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Inter-Corporate Ownership: The Inter-corporate ownership (61-517-XCB) directory is the most authoritative and comprehensive source of information available on corporate ownership, a unique directory of "who owns what" in Canada. It tracks the ownership of the largest Canadian corporations and provides up-to-date information reflecting recent corporate takeovers and other substantial changes. McMaster Only
 
Mutual Funds
 
 
Investment Company Institute: primary source for statistical data and research on investors and retirement plans in the investment company industry. Institute research examines such topics as the retirement market, shareholder demographics and trends in shareholder ownership, fund fees and expenses and the industry’s role in foreign markets.
 
Lipper Analytics: Selected free data on mutual funds industry.
 
CRSP Mutual Fund Database: provides survivor-bias free open-ended data for funds of all investment objectives including stock funds, taxable and municipal bond funds, international funds, and money market funds. The database records each mutual fund's name and organizational history for open-ended mutual funds from January 1, 1962. Available through WRDS.
 
Morningstar: provides free and instant access to timely financial news and analysis. Registration is required for free membership.
 
Bonds
 
Fixed Income Securities Database: Produced by Mergent, Inc. Provides issue detail on over 140,000 Corporate, Corporate MTN (Medium Term Note), Supranational, U.S. Agency and U.S. Treasury debt securities since 1995. Specific issue information available: Full call, put and sinking fund schedules, plus call frequency codes, Structured security flags and detailed information, Updated Fitch, Moody's and S&P credit ratings, U.S. Treasury auction information, Convertible debt information, Underwriters, trustees and fiscal agents, Unit deals and warrant information. Specific issuer information available: Industry code, S.I.C. code and N.A.I.C.S. code, Stock ticker and exchange listings, Issuer name and parent relationships, Bankruptcy detail. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Trade Reporting and Compliance Engine (TRACE): NASD's over-thecounter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service. Introduced in July of 2002, TRACE consolidates transaction data for all eligible corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt. As a result, individual investors and market professionals can access information on 100 percent of OTC activity representing over 99 percent of total U.S. corporate bond market activity in over 30,000 securities. The information collected and disseminated for all publicly traded corporate bonds by TRACE includes the time of execution, price, yield, and volume. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
CRSP (Center for Research and Security Prices): includes US Government bonds (daily and monthly frequency) back to 1925. Available through WRDS. McMaster Only
 
Options and Futures
 
Yahoo! Finance Options: Options analysis tools, options news, learn about options investing etc.
 
Chicago Board Options Exchange: provides valuable online resources including real-time and delayed option quotes, market statistic summaries, strategy discussions and applets, option software downloads and interactive educational training modules.
 
Options Clearing Corporation: provides access to options and futures market data, historical volume data, weekly and monthly reports etc.
 
Commodities
 
MEMDB (Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank): contains 6 databases providing select commodity prices from the Medieval Ages, three pertaining to currency exchanges and two pertaining to prices. Free access provided from Rutgers University for non-commercial and academic purposes only.
 
Commodity Statistics through UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics: provides annual pricing data from 1960 to 2016 for various commodities through UNCTAD.
 
Hedge Funds
 
CISDM Hedge Fund/CTA Indices: Every month, the CISDM produces a set of indices covering monthly performances of hedge funds, funds of funds and CTAs. These indices are based on the performance figures reported to CISDM-Morningstar Database. Historical data on these indices are available to the public free of charge.