Arts of China, Korea and Japan: Research Guide
Table of Contents
Course name: Arts of China, Korea and Japan
Course date: Fall 2010
Art History 2Z03 Arts of China, Korea and Japan Fall 2010
Books
- search the library catalogue
- sample keywords and keyword combinations:
- chinese art, japanese art, korean art, asian art, etc.
- art china, art japan, art korea, art asia, etc.
- painting, sculpture, drawing, calligraphy, photography, pottery, etc.
- history, catalogues, exhibitions, etc.
- catalogue searching Tips:
- use double quotes to find a phrase:
- use the left navigation bar to narrow your results, especially by
- Subject
- Geographical Region, e.g. Asia > Asia, Western
- Subject Era
- use the Advanced Search tab to combine multiple search terms, for example
- Search for all of the words: art
- for any of the words: korea korean
Databases of Articles & Images
Another route to access databases: go to the library home page, click on the "Articles/Databases" tab, and from the "Choose your subject" drop-down menu, select Art & Art History
Recommended Databases for Arts of China, Korea and Japan
- JSTOR
A digital archive of full text journals, going back to the first issue of each title. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years. Choose Art & Art History (165 titles) and Asian Studies (52 titles). - Art Abstracts, 1984 - present
Broad coverage of the visual arts including new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Size: 1.8 M articles from 500 publications. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1976 to present
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, including art and architecture; it fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and contains a current total of over 2.5 million records. - ARTstor
Online access to approximately 400,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines which document artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
- BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art, 1973 to present
Citations and abstracts for over 665,000 articles from more than 2,500 periodicals and books; covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. - BHI: British Humanities Index
Indexes and abstracts of over 688,600 articles from over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published inthe UK. Major areas of coverage include: artchitecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environments, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre. - CAMIO: OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Searchable image database of ca. 90,000 art objects held in museums mainly in North America, covering ancient to contemporary art. - Historical Abstracts 1955 to present
Abstracts for over .5 million journal articles, books and dissertations from over 1,700 key historical journals. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada ). - Humanities Abstracts 1984 to present
Broad coverage of all humanities disciplines.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
For quick facts, defining terms and getting an overview of your topic.
- Oxford Art Online
Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia of 41,000 articles covering art and artists worldwide, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes numerous illustrations and detailed bibliographies; a comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography. - Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
- Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
- Oxford Companion to the Photograph
- Oxford Dictionary of Art
- Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Art
- Mills Reference, 2nd floor N 7358 .B54
- Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art
- Mills Reference, 2nd floor N 7340 .M84
- Enciclopedia dell'arte antica, classica e orientale
- Mills Bookstacks N 31 .E48 v. 1-7 + atlas and supplements
- Encyclopedia of China
- Mills Reference, 2nd floor DS 705 .P47 1999
- A Glossary of Chinese Art and Archaeology
- Mills Reference, 2nd floor N 7340 .H3 1972
Web Sources
Large Gateway Sites
- Art History Resources On The Web
Designed and maintained by Dr. Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe, Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College, Virginia - Arts of China Consortium
Chinese and Japanese art history links. - Google Images
- Korea Web: Art
- Timeline of Art History / Metropolitan Museum of Art
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. Current features include: 175 timelines, 250 special topics, 1700 works of art, 100 maps, and comprehensive index. - Voice of the Shuttle (VoS) links to Museums, Galleries, Institutes, & Centers in:
- Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 13,900 reproductions. Commentaries on pictures, biographies of artists are available. - World Wide Web Virtual Library: History of Art
The History of Art Virtual Library is a collection of links relating to Art History and computer applications in Art History. The site is sponsored by CHArt, the Computers and History of Art Group. This site is aimed at everybody interested in art, but it has a special focus on the academic study of Art History - World Wide Arts Resources
Large site offers extensive information on art history, contemporary art, art news and more; can browse by country
Museums and Other Sites
- Art Scene China: Contemporary Chinese Art: portfolios of contemporary Chinese artists
- Asia Society
- British Museum
- Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art: photographic archive at Ohio State University
- National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
- National Museum of China
- National Palace Museum Beijing
- National Palace Museum Taipei
- Royal Ontario Museum
- Smithsonian: Freer & Sackler Galleries
- University of Hawai'i Center for Korean Studies
- Victoria and Albert Museum

