Extensive portal based in the U.S. with links to a wide range of Web sites of interest to accountants. Focus is U.S. accounting practice
Learn accounting and bookeeping concepts for free using the following tabs: Accounting Topics, Test Yourself, Questions & Answers, Bookkeeping Training, and Dictionary of Terms. All the instructional content is authored by Harold Averkamp, CPA, MBA. U.S focus.
Extensive online resource based in U.K. Received an award as the New Media Business Web Site of the Year
Accounting Research Network
Includes thousands of full-text working papers and abstracts of already accepted papers as part of the Social Science Research Network’s eLibrary. NOTE: Must register (free registration) first before accessing publications.
Accounting Tutorial: Ten Steps to Accounting Research
Outlines basic steps for tackling topics in the highly technical field of accounting. Provides quick access to an online guide to accounting resources and two interesting case studies about the “Enron debacle” and the impacts of FASB Statement No. 142, “Goodwill and Other Intangible Assets.”
Employment Sources in Canada
- AccountingJobs.ca - http://www.accountingjobs.ca/
Online source for accounting jobs in Canada. Select job category (by province) or job type. Can also post your resumes to the website.
- Job Bank (Service Canada) - http://www.jobbank.gc.ca/intro-eng.aspx
Posts federal government positions. Provides lnks to job match, job alert, resume builder (must register first) and job search tips. Also includes Career Navigator and quizzes for exploring your career options.
- Ontario Public Service Careers - http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca/Search.aspx
Lists active positions within the government of Ontario. Can search by region, city, job category or minimum salary.
- Working in Canada (Government of Canada) - http://www.workingincanada.gc.ca/home-eng.do?lang=eng
Excellent source for information on your industry including program of study, occupation of graduates, work prospects and works facts.
Finance Resources on the Web
Produced by Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu, provides access to summaries and interpretations of International Accounting Standards Also available are country summaries and updates for over thirty nations, links for international accounting and chronological access to “reference materials”.
QFINANCE: The Ultimate Financial Resource
Brings together articles and other materials relevant for professionals and students in finance. Each article typically covers best practice, viewpoints, checklists, calculations, recommended readings and key concepts. Financial quotes,country profiles and sector (or industry) profiles are also included. Free registration may be required to view some comment.
Rutgers Accounting Web (RAW)
A portal to current accounting research and links. The Accounting Research Directory (free, but must register) list links, evaluates and categorizes major articles published between 1963 to present in nine leading accounting journals
One of the most comprehensive sources available for accounting information. Use the drop down menu to select an area of interest. Gray banner at the top provides access to Resource Library tab with links to Resources & Tools for accountants, newsletters and journals, CPA exam study guides and vendors and an auditing glossary of terms.
Tax, Accounting and Payroll Sites Directory
Selected Web sites by topic.Provides links of interest for managerial accounting, financial reporting, career information, regulatory bodies, and certification information for more than twenty designations, such as CPA, CFE, CMA, etc.
Wachowicz's Web World: Web Sites for Discerning Finance Students
WebCPA: Tools and Resources for the Tax and Accounting Professional
Includes "online business news for the tax and accounting community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis, and a host of Web-related resources and services." Registration is required to read articles.