United States - Code of Federal Regulations


The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published by the Executive departments and agencies of the U.S. Federal Government. Regulations in the Code have the "force and effect of law." Whereas new or amended regulations are explained and interpreted in the Federal Register (where they first appear), they are systematically compiled in the Code.


The Code of Federal Regulations is divided into 50 titles representing broad areas subject to Federal regulation. There are three sections to each CFR title:

  1. Explanation
    • general information on all CFR title and notes on the indexing
    • information on "this title"
  2. Text of coded documents
    • each title is divided into chapters, parts of chapters, and sections - table of contents begins each chapter and part
    • a section is the basic unit of the CFR, usually proposition or specific subject
  3. Finding Aids
    • table of CFR titles and chapters
    • alphabetical list of agencies appearing in CFR,
    • redesignation tables (indicating reorganized chapters and parts)
    • list of CFR sections affected (indicating changes since 1964)

Each title is revised once a year on a quarterly schedule. For revisions and new regulations made within the current month, check the Federal Register (US1 AC206 -F26 (MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche)).


Code of Federal Regulations
US1 AC 206 P01 (MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche))
Available online: Code of Federal Regulations