Transdex - United States Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)

usa

Transdex is a translation and indexing service produced by the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) of the United States government.

The service selects, indexes and translates key journal articles, speeches and broadcasts, originally published in non-English languages, from various East European, Asian and African countries. The selected materials cover a wide range of topics, including political, social, economic and literary issues.

Format: 

Translations and indexes are released monthly.

The translations are available on microfilm to 1977, and on microfiche from 1978.

The translations are arranged numerically by JPRS number on both the film and fiche formats.

Indexes: 

The indexes are issued monthly in paper copy. The monthlies are cumulated in an annual index, and published in fiche format.

The department discards the monthlies once the annual index arrives.

The monthly and annual indexes include the following sections:

  • Publications index

    Includes complete bibliographic citations (including author, title, date, etc.) of all items in the issue/year

    Items are arranged by JPRS number.

  • Keyword index

    An index to all significant words appearing in the title of the documents.

    As well, includes entries for all country names, geographic areas and subjects relevant to the item.

    The index does not use a controlled vocabulary. As a result, the user must use synonyms and related terms to locate all relevant material on a particular subject (e.g. "Russian" "Soviet" etc.)

  • Keyword Frequency List (blue pages)

    Identifies all keywords and stopwords (words not indexed because they are too common) in the issue.

    Lists the number of times each word is used in the issue.

  • Personal Name Index

    An alphabetical index to authors.

    As well, includes individuals who are the main subject of the document (e.g. the person being interviewed).

    Names are indexed as they appear in the JPRS title.

  • Series Index

    An alphabetical index of all series titles included in the issue/year.

 

Holdings: 

Transdex JPRS
JPRS numbers 63778 - 70401
US1 DE180 -B34 (E) (Microfilm)

1974: July - 1996: Dec.
MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche)

1975-1977
MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)

1978 - 1983
MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche)

1984-1996
MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche)

In addition to this general set, the Government Publications has several individual series of JPRS translations. Most sets are grouped by country. A small number refer to specific subjects (e.g. military developments):

Afghanistan
US1 DE180 -A23 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-61

Asia
US1 DE180 -A74 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
July 1962-June 1964

China
US1 DE180 -C34 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-July 1960; July 1962-June 1964

International Developments
US1 DE180 -C36 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
July 1962-February 1963

China and Asia
US1 DE180 -C36 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
July 1961-June 1974

East Europe
US1 DE180 -E14 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
July 1962-June 1974

(East Europe) Czechoslovakia
US1 DE180 -E15 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-1961

(East Europe) Hungary
US1 DE180 -E16 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-1961

(East Europe) Economic Series
US1 DE180 -E17 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957- July 1961

(East Europe) Press Poland
US1 DE180 -E18 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
19570July 1961

(East Europe) Press Rumania
US1 DE180 -E18 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-July 1961

(East Europe) Legal Abstracts
US1 DE180 -E19 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1967-December 1961

Military
US1 DE180 -E20 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-July 1961

Sociological
US1 DE180 -E20 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-July 1961

International Communist Development
US1 DE180 -I54 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-June 1962

International Developments
US1 DE180- I54 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
March 1963-June 1974

Indonesia
US1 DE180 -I55 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-1961

Mongolia
US1 DE180 -M55 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-1961

North Korea
US1 DE180 -N54 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-1961

North Vietnam
US1 DE180 -N58 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-1961

Scholarly Book Translation Series (East Europe)
US1 DE180 -S11 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)

Scholarly Book Translation Series (Soviet Union)
US1 DE180 -S11 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)

U.S.S.R.
US1 DE180 -S59 - MILLS Gov Pubs (mfilm)
1957-June 1974