British Sessional Papers (1900- )

uk
Format: 

The department's collection of 20th century British Parliamentary Papers is held in a combination of paper, microcard and microfiche formats. All current materials are received in fiche, with some key titles duplicated in paper. Some current information is now available online.

Indexes: 

Indexes are available in print and electronically.

Readex Index to British Parliamentary Papers.

Electronic access from any computer in Mills, Thode and Innis Libraries. Available through the start menu.

This index provides access to contemporary documents from the House of Commons and House of Lords, including index access to Hansard's Debates and the Journal of the House of Commons. Information coverage is from 1990 to the present.

General Index to the Bills, Reports and Papers Printed by Order of the House of Commons and to the Reports and Papers Presented by Command.

UK1 X8 -S261
1900 - 49; 1950 - 1990 (MILLS Gov Pubs) .

This index is arranged by subject. Entries include session, page number (in parenthesis), volume number (in roman numerals), then the page number.

Sessional Index for Session, 1950/51-

Annual.
UK1 X8 -S30 (MILLS Gov Pubs)

The Sessional Index provides good subject access to parliamentary papers. Items are arranged into 4 sections: Bills, Reports, Accounts and Papers, and Command Papers.

The Index includes a progress of bills report, a list of bills not printed, and a list of papers recorded in the Journals but not printed separately.

The Index is published at the end of each session. As a result of this time lag, the H.M.S.O. Catalogue is sometimes better for accessing very current papers.

HMSO Catalogue

Monthly Catalogue with annual cumulation
UK1 QP -G56 (MILLS Gov Pubs)

All parliamentary materials are listed at the front of the catalogue. An alphabetical index is included at the back. Based on calendar rather than sessional year.

Although not as conducive to subject searching, the Catalogue is the quickest way to track down very current publications.

Ford, P. and G. Ford. Breviate of Parliamentary Papers.

Z 2009 .F71B (MILLS Gov Pubs)
1900-16; 1917-39; 1940-54; 1955-64; 1965-74; 1974-83.

Continues the same selective coverage and arrangement by subject as the earlier volumes (see 1801-1931- period). Excludes foreign policy, colonial and ecclesiastical materials, annual reports, statistical returns, etc.

HMSO - UK Legislation

This site contains UK legislation, including Acts of Parliament, Statutory Instruments and Measures of the General Synod of the Church of England. From 1998 to the present, the full text of all new Public General Acts is available via this website. Local Acts are available full text from 1991 to the present.

The United Kingdom Parliament

Contains current information on national parliamentary services, links to the House of Commons and the House of Lords, and includes texts of bills and Hansard reports.

Holdings: 

I. Bills

Holdings:

The period 1900-1932 is covered by the British Sessional Papers set on microprint described earlier (UK1 X8 -S26 (MILLS Gov Pubs)).

Beginning with the 1979/80 session, the Department receives British Bills on microfiche (UK1 X8 -S25 (MILLS Gov Pubs)). 1913 - 1980 is in paperbound format.

II. Accounts and Papers/Committee Reports

Holdings:

The period 1900-1932 is covered by the British Sessional Papers ser on microprint described earlier (UK1 X8 -S26 (MILLS Gov Pubs)).

The Department has unbound hard copies of Accounts and Papers and Committee Reports for the period 1913-83.

Microfiche coverage begins with the 1979/80 session.

Items are arranged chronologically - by session and paper number.

House of Commons Papers.
UK1 X8 -S26
1913 -1978/79 (MILLS Gov Pubs)
1979 - to the present(MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche))

III. Command Papers

Command Papers are papers deemed to be of wide public interest and hence specially "commanded" to be printed.

The Command Papers are issued in consecutive series, each beginning with the number one. Make sure you are using the correct series:

  1. 1833-1868/69            Nos. 1 - 4222
  2. 1870-1899                  Nos. C.1 - C.9550
  3. 1900-1918                  Nos. Cd.1 - Cd.9239
  4. 1919-1955/56             Nos. Cmd.1 - Cmd.9889
  5. 1955/56 - 1985/86     Nos. Cmnd.1 - Cmd. 9927
  6. 1987-                         Nos. Cm.1 -

Holdings:

Early Command Papers, published between 1833 and 1931, are picked up by the British Sessional Papers set on microprint described earlier (UK1 X8 -S26 (MILLS Gov Pubs)).

The Department holds an incomplete collection of Command Papers beginning in 1900. Coverage improved in the 1920s.

Beginning with the 1979/80 session, the Department receives Command Papers on microfiche. Key items are duplicated in paper copy

Command Papers.
UK1 X8 -S27
1900 - 1979 (MILLS Gov Pubs)
1979/80 - (MILLS Gov Pubs (mfiche)

IV. Treaties

Treaties are a subset of the Command Papers.

Holdings

Treaties.
UK1 X8 -S28
1913 -1978
1979-80